Build to max Starcraft 2 settings - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2010, 04:54 PM   #21 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

it's not out of the ordinary O.o
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 04:58 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

How about that motherboard hes recommending though? Very positive reviews. What do you think? Thanks for all your help as well.
__________________

parks71 is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 05:07 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by parks71 View Post
How about that motherboard hes recommending though? Very positive reviews. What do you think? Thanks for all your help as well.
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P55M-UD2 LGA 1156 Intel P55 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

If you mean that one?
It's the same as the Intel one I suggested minus the USB 3.0 or SATA 6Gb/s
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 06:25 PM   #24 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 157
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

If we really wanna futureproofing why not get
M4A89GTD pro motherboard and unlock the cores on a duel or a tri? Its suposed to overclock like a madman too

here is info

ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 890GX Motherboard Review - Overclockers Club

That way he can upgrade since he would have the new chipset, socket, and everything. This way he can use a lower processor now and get a better later

Core Unlocker:

Core Unlocker is another hardware driven switch that when enabled allows the system to automatically tune the BIOS, to attempt to unlock hidden cores in some of AMD's processors. As we have all seen I am sure some of the AMD Phenom II X2's and X3's are actually Phenom II X4's that have one core disabled, either due to stability issues or simply to meet demand for that particular CPU. This utility attempts to restore it to the quad core state. To test this feature, I placed a Phenom II X2 555 "Black Edition" processor into the system and flipped the switch. To my amaze the system automatically unlocked the other two cores with no other input from me. With this board, I was able to stably run the unlocked cores for 2 hours using Prime 95 and had no stability issues. In fact, I have kept it in the system for the last four days and still running strong as can be.
ZorrosRage is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 06:36 PM   #25 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

The rig in my sig plays SCII with flying colors

It was near the upper end of $1,400 when I built it (Hard drives included), so you could probably get it for around $1,200 (with the high capacity HDD's) if you really know where to look. You could probably get near $1,000 without the high capacity HDD's, like a 500GB HDD or something.

If you're in the beta, add me. iFargle.you
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is online now  
Old 03-08-2010, 06:45 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

Thanks for all the help guys. Please look over my order before I hit the purchase button and see if I am missing anything or any big mistakes I should rethink.

Do I need thermal paste or will it come with that? Thanks.

http://secure.newegg.com/Shopping/Sh...px?Submit=view
parks71 is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 07:14 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

Yeah starcraft 2 isn't demanding at all. I'd be willing to bet you could max it at 1900x1080 with a 5750...
__________________
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 07:20 PM   #28 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 157
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by parks71 View Post
Thanks for all the help guys. Please look over my order before I hit the purchase button and see if I am missing anything or any big mistakes I should rethink.

Do I need thermal paste or will it come with that? Thanks.

http://secure.newegg.com/Shopping/Sh...px?Submit=view
the link dont work :-D it just sends me to my parts i want to purchase :-D. you will have to link or setup as wishlist :-D
ZorrosRage is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 07:33 PM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

Newegg.com - LITE-ON Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA CD/DVD Burner - Bulk - CD / DVD Burners
Newegg.com - Rosewill Blackbone Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Computer Cases
Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3500418AS 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
Newegg.com - Logitech MX518 8 Buttons 1 x Wheel USB Wired Optical 1800 dpi Gaming Mouse - Mice
Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL7D-4GBRM - Desktop Memory
Newegg.com - ASUS P7P55D-E LGA 1156 Intel P55 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
Newegg.com - Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus Intel Core i5 & Intel Core i7 compatible RR-B10-212P-G1 120mm "heatpipe direct contact" Long life sleeve CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

1026 shipped, will buy windows as student. Please let me know if any mistakes. Do I need thermal stuff for the processor or will it come with it? Thanks all, I am ready to pull trigger, waiting for an OK.
parks71 is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 07:41 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

Newegg.com - LG Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 16X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM SATA DVD Burner - Bulk - CD / DVD Burners

$1 cheaper, same performance.

Remember to use the promo code with that case for free shipping.

The heatsinks on the RAM look a little bit tall?
But I doubt it'll cause a problem.
Still, I suggest some RAM with a lower heatsink, and XMP for easily getting the settings/timings/frequency and such adjusted.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227503
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145263
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231319
One of those three is what I would pick over the sticks you have selected.

As for the rest...
Looks well enough.
Enjoy that computer.

About the Thermal "Stuff" The CPU Cooler will come with a tube.
__________________

__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[MOVIES] Mad Max 4 finally getting the green light Harper Off Topic Discussion 4 05-18-2009 08:49 AM
All VOIP programs (skype, yahoo, msn) cause PC crash (only voice calls, chat ok)??? disksko Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 03-17-2009 09:17 AM
Windows 7 Build 7000 Beta Review KSoD Official TF Reviews 11 02-15-2009 01:33 PM
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM
First Computer Build: Newb Need Advice djc122984 System Upgrades 15 12-31-2008 07:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.