Build to max Starcraft 2 settings - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2010, 02:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
Default Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

I want to build a PC to replace my e6600 with 8800 GTS.

My monitor is 22'' with a rez of 1600by1000 (close anyway)

I do nothing but game and usually just RTS games, starcraft 2 and supreme commander.

I want to stay around 1000 or under although I would go a tad higher if it was really worth it.

I need everything but monitor including cooling to overclock it. I dont need to overclock to the max but a moderate overclock would be nice. I have no idea where to start because I have not stayed in tune with all the PC stuff since my last CPU.

Please recommend what I should use to meet my needs. Thanks for all help.
__________________

parks71 is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 02:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

Would you be willing to recycle any parts from your old rig? How bout an operating system?
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 02:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

Woops, yeah, what aliasaid said.
Are the optical drives, HDD's, etc... from your old rig SATA?
Can you re use them?

Are there any other parts you are willing to re use?
Possibly PSU?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 02:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

No, the kids are getting that cpu to do their homework and download music and crap so they dont infect my cpu anymore.
parks71 is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 02:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

For $1000
I'd try to go i5 750 + 5850 or Phenom II X4 + 5850

My question to you, is do you have any brand preferences?

Nvidia?
ATI?
AMD?
Intel?
Western Digital?
Seagate?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 02:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

So i guess an operating system is included in the $1000. So that leaves around $900 for the hardware. I'll see what i can do!
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 02:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
Default

I prefer the fastest. I used to like Gforce but now ATI seems to be better. No brand prefences although I do usually like Intel better than AMD but I can be convinced otherwise.

Thanks for all the help guys!

Also if something is on sale I dont mind taking advantage of it, like if a PS is not quite as good but much cheaper due to a rebate or whatever as long as it will do the job. Newegg has these combo deals but I also dont want to save 100 bucks to get screwed with a crappy component.
parks71 is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 03:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

Here's one build; i went slightly over budget. Total: $1052 + shipping = $1060.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
Newegg.com - SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD253GJ 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
Newegg.com - Rosewill Blackbone Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Computer Cases
Newegg.com - Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit 1-Pack for System Builders - Operating Systems

Now here's the deal, if you want some nice cooling, you'll have to downgrade some parts, probably the i7 to an i5... but that kinda defeats the purpose of overclocking if it means downgrading to do so...

If you want to go into hard-core gaming, you could downgrade the i7 to an i5 and upgrade the 5850 to a 5870.

Good Luck.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 03:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

Wow, you built a beast of a computer, didnt think I would be able to get all that. Very good job and thanks for the hard work.


Question though, since my resolution on my monitor is 1600 by 1000, is that video card overkill? Would I be able to overclock that some with stock cooling? I dont mind upgrading cooling later either very good job with the combos. I really appreciate it.

Also, will that video card fit in that case?
parks71 is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 03:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: Build to max Starcraft 2 settings

$1042 with shipping using promo code EMCYPYN48 (Today only, then it'll be 1052 with shipping after today)

Newegg.com - Rosewill Blackbone Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Computer Cases
Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3500418AS 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
Newegg.com - OCZ 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) XMP-Ready Rev.2 Desktop Memory Model OCZ3X1600R2LV4GK - Desktop Memory
Newegg.com - Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit 1-Pack for System Builders - Operating Systems
Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus Intel Core i5 & Intel Core i7 compatible RR-B10-212P-G1 120mm "heatpipe direct contact" Long life sleeve CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!


Newegg.com - SAMSUNG Black 22X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 16X DVD+R DL 22X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA DVD Burner LightScribe Support - CD / DVD Burners
Almost forgot about the burner.
Tack on $25 more


Some of the differences between this and what aliasaid posted.

i5 750 vs i7 860
aliasaid didn't have on a cpu cooler
Sata 6Gb/s and USB 3.0 capable Asus motherboard v.s. the Biostar mobo posted by aliasaid
samsung spinpoint f3 250gb hdd v.s. seagate 7200.12 500gb hdd

For the most part the two builds aren't terribly different in gaming performance.
I'll see what I can fit together for your budget using AMD instead of Intel.




-----------------------------
Quote:
Originally Posted by parks71 View Post
Wow, you built a beast of a computer, didnt think I would be able to get all that. Very good job and thanks for the hard work.


Question though, since my resolution on my monitor is 1600 by 1000, is that video card overkill? Would I be able to overclock that some with stock cooling? I dont mind upgrading cooling later either very good job with the combos. I really appreciate it.

Also, will that video card fit in that case?
The 5850 is overkill for your resolution.
A 5770 could probably tie you over.
(Quick question, how many troops can you command at once on Starcraft 2? And how many people may fight each other at once?)
__________________

__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[MOVIES] Mad Max 4 finally getting the green light Harper Off Topic Discussion 4 05-18-2009 08:49 AM
All VOIP programs (skype, yahoo, msn) cause PC crash (only voice calls, chat ok)??? disksko Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 03-17-2009 09:17 AM
Windows 7 Build 7000 Beta Review KSoD Official TF Reviews 11 02-15-2009 01:33 PM
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM
First Computer Build: Newb Need Advice djc122984 System Upgrades 15 12-31-2008 07:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.