Build Idea... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2007, 02:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default Build Idea...

Just throwing something out cause I'm pretty convinced I'm going Nvidia and don't give a **** about the AMD R600 since it is going to cost too much:

-CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115003

-Mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188009

or the Asus 680i if it is back in stock soon

- Video Card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130072

or perhaps a 8800GTS if I feel the $150 saved is necessary.... which it prolly won't matter since im spending around 2K without rebates and savings applied...

-Memory: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820609026

Anyone know of issues with super talent? reviews seem good and the latency timings are awesome for ddr2 800

-PSU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153039

I wanted to get OCZ, but they don't got a good modular cabling unit which I need to make this case work:

-Case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129154

Def going to get a 120mm fan to replace the second HD cage in that case since the 8800 gtx needs it removed anyways...

HD: Two of these beauties: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148140

For the optical drive I am just going to take my 16X Samsung from my current comp, got a great 21" widescreen, and who gives two damns about floppy drives.

Should make for a sweet compy that will hopefully play ut2007, crysis, and enemy territory well. I know it will own current and older games hehe.

As for a CPU cooler, I don't think I will get an aftermarket until overclocking is necessary. Right now core 2 e6600 should be fine at stock speeds...


Any comments / suggestions?
__________________

__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 03:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Overall, the build looks good, but may I make some suggestions?

For one, I think you're spending way more than you need to on the motherboard. Some of the higher-end motherboards, such as those based on the 680i chipset are overhyped. Yes, they have great potential, however they have to be in the right hands; you won't be breaking any world records unless you're a master overclocker such as those found at XtremeSystems. Furthermore, most people aren't going to be able to take their processors as far as some of those motherboards are built to go, something a lot cheaper gets the job done, and then some. ASUS's P5B ($180) is an excellent overclocker, one of the best ones around, and for a very reasonable price. Even the P5B-E version ($151) would take your E6600 as far as its going to go.

You could also save some money on the memory, but it looks like its worth the price, so that's fine.

PSU; Read This Sticky. 700W, 72Amps in this case, is way overkill even for that system. I recently recommended the Hiper 530W ($85) in a very similar build for a friend of mine (including 8800GTX).

Otherwise, looks like you did your homework on the hardware, they're all excellent parts. Nice case there too. If you do ever decide to get an aftermarket cooler, the
Zalman 9500 ($54) is about as nice as it gets.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 03:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Thats a pretty expensive board you have there, if you feel that you will want SLI later on...then I guess but there are alot cheaper. Either way

Ok the PSU is overkill. Your also paying about 50 bucks more than you need to be even after the rebates.

You usually need around 550-600w's on a PSU with dual 12v and good @'s on the rails. While ones with tripple 12v rails around 500-550w. Even with ur 8800GTX that will be more than enough may I suggest this one to save some money?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371002

Tri 12v rails. All the power you need

Ok now, the memory BTW Super Talent isnt exactly the best known company in ram but those sticks right there are good D9's. Basically that is some good ram.

The Case is good also.

Now heres where we have a problem..lol as in you and me.
If you are not going to Overclock that E6600 I will....have to call you a wuss lol.... The Core 2 Duos are so incredible overclockers that if you dont overclock one right off the bat your just stupid. I dont even care if stock its "Ok"

Being able to increase your speed 30% easy and I've seen up to 80% speed increase on the E6600 is insane. You need to get an aftermarket cooler such as a Zalman, Tuniq Tower, or a Freezer Pro 7 and Overclock that thing. That ram you have will be going completley to waste as that ram is made for serious overclockers.

Lol....please overclock that baby and dont limit yourself. You wont blow anything up as long as ask questions.

Please remember that every CPU there is bottlenecks the 8800GTX a little bit. Even the Quad Core. So to alleviate some of that bottleneck OC that baby for what its worth!
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 03:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Lol trieclipse looks like a lot of your suggestions resemble mine. Heh i've been doing my homework more and more. Looks like you hang around at the same places as me. Anyway I was telling him to OC his system to alleivate the bottleneck on the 8800GTX a bit
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 04:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Haha yeah, as I was going through your post, a lot of things did look really similar. Lol, I used to say the exact same thing to people who didn't overclock.

Although I would have to disagree with the bottleneck. =/ Despite what Anandtech may say, a Core 2 Duo is too powerful of a processor (in relative terms) to bottleneck a 8800GTX. If anything, Anandtech read their results wrong (they've done it before, and its been publicized on their forums). There are certainly bound to be performance improvements in the latest games from a faster CPU, but that's more because of CPU-dependant factors, than the CPU bottleneck being loosened.

Yeah, he should overclock, so should everyone who is capable of it.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 04:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default

With these suggestions and moolah saved by cheaper mobo and PSU I will pick up that zalman. i really like how the fan blows towards the exhaust fan on the back of the case. it should allow for some sick potential...

now i got to read about OCing..... yay!

thank you very much for the input
__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 07:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default

ah ****, that mobo says it has a 8-pin CPU power connector, but it looks like 4-pin....

and the hiper PSU only has a 4-pin CPU connector....

just me or is that a 4-pin on the P5B?
__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 07:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

Thats a four pin.
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 01:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default

Okay, so this is the idea:

https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion...tle=2007+build

granted that mobo has a 4-pin CPU power connector
__________________

__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Closed Thread

« Hot | MoBo Help! »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.