Build Help.. Couple things, Need Advice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2007, 03:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Default Build Help.. Couple things, Need Advice

Ok, Right now I have an e6300 core 2 duo processor and an Intel DG965WH mobo (which before I open I am selling because I don't want that chipset) I am doing a complete overhaul (exluding my x-fi which is comming with me) so far i only have the two components.

I am first selling my mobo and getting the ASUS P5N-E SLI because its a decent overclocker, good priced, accepts ddr2 800 under cas5 and acepts multiple voltages. That I think I am ok with, but suggestions always welcome.

Second, I am planning to get the ATI x1950PRO because I can get it for 150$ through ATI and I cant pass up the performance for the money. This I know I am doing.

Third, I need memory, I am thinking about getting G.Skill F2-6400CL4D-2GBHK, Its their new ram that runs at 4-4-3-5, ddr2 800, 2GB. It, for the money looks like an amazing deal at 240$. Reviews so far are good, says good for overclocking too. But my question is, if I get that motherboard that accepts ddr2 800 CAN you even overclock it? Will it allow you to go faster and will you notice performance increases, or is it pointless? Any other suggestions on memory is welcomed!

Fourth, I am going to need a hard drive, Im thinking just a little 80gb sata 3gb/s to run the OS maybe the 120gb baracuda.

Any advice, suggestions? Am I building a pretty good little machine on a budget? I know the 6300 OC's very well so I am definantly planning to push it.

So far Im looking at about 75$ for the Mobo (after selling mine for 75$) 150$ for the card, 240$ for the ram, 65$ for the hdd.
__________________

Dm3k1 is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 03:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

get the cheaper gskill ddr2800 for like 190
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 03:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Default

do you think you will notice the difference in timings? And can you OC ddr2 800 ram with a ddr2 800 mobo?
Dm3k1 is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 04:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Default

up its fallling!
Dm3k1 is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 04:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

yes you can, that ram will be fine
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 05:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Default

If I go with that ram should I just keep my motherboard? the reason why I am getting rid of it is because it doesnt accept timings lower than 5-5-5 and it only allows 1.8 (i guess 1.9 with new bios update) The ram is 1.8-2v
__________________

Dm3k1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.