build or buy part 2 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2005, 09:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Case of your choice ~$60
Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-550 ATX12V 550W $90
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ s939 processor $322
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 ~$85
Rosewill 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 ~$195
eVGA 256-P2-N516 Geforce 7800GT 256MB $279
Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 ST3160812AS 160GB 7200 RPM SATA ~$95
Floppy Drive ~$15
NEC Black IDE/ATAPI DVD Burner ~$42
Cables and Beautifying (UV lights or LED fans) ~$50

Total : $1233 SHIPPED

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 09:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

There you go. I wouldn't get rosewill RAM however. Also invest in an X-fi XtremeMusic as well. That will come out to about the price of what you are currently looking at.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 09:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I have rosewill ram... as I have a rosewill power supply. I buy rosewill parts consistantly. The quality is there. I knew I should have put a dislaimer on there. *do not criticize the RAM. Thank you. Cram it*

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 09:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

All Rosewill products suck, they are newegg's own brand and if you intend to do any overclocking at all, they won't do it.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 09:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 35
Default

"Total : $1233 SHIPPED"

you forgot the OS $150 and a few other things
midrangeG is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 09:49 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

my bad. XP home 85 dollars. I don't know what you mean by 'other things' It's a complete system. Besides, I threw in an extra 50 for 'beautifying.' He has a buffer...

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 09:50 PM   #17 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by midrangeG
"Total : $1233 SHIPPED"

you forgot the OS $150 and a few other things
What you are failing to understand is that if you build that system, it will totally destroy the one you are looking at now due to the video card alone. Even if you have to pay an extra $150, it's well worth it. I don't think you realize just how much more powerful the 7800gt is over the 6600 vanilla. The 6600 vanilla has a 300MHz core clock speed with 8 pixel pipelines. The 7800GT has a 470MHz clock speed with 20 pixel pipelines. The 6600 vanilla has 128MB/256MB of 128-bit DDR RAM clocked at 500MHz. The 7800GT has 256MB of 256-bit GDDR3 RAM clocked at 1.1GHz. It would totally annihilate TWO 6600 vanilla's in SLI. There is no contest. The 7800GT utterly destroys the pitiful 6600 vanilla, and if you can have a system that has it for a measly $150 more, it is WELL worth it.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 09:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

ya, I knew that any built rig would pwn that one.

even if you pay say 50 more bucks, it still 300% better.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 10:16 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 35
Default

you all fail to do better .....ie replacing windows xp pro with home thats not what I want that is all............. later
midrangeG is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 10:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Lol, you actually buy your copy of windows............. later

Here you go, win XP pro OEM for $79, if you really must pay for it:
http://www.pricegrabber.com/user_sal...&lot_id=456834
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.