Build; $1000-$1800CND

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cheshire4

Beta member
I've been running on laptops for the last 3 years and am totally out of touch with tower hardware.

I work for a charity organization, and we're in need of a rather well built system (shared / multi-purpose) which will have some rather high demands put to it.

The budget range available is 1000$ to 1800$.

One thing I will like to try post build is running ESXi & PCIe passthrough to have a windows VM with proper hardware graphics support. I will be benchmarking to compare if the performance hit is worth it. If it is worth it, a small openBSD & a small openFiler VM will be created for generic testing.

On to the build questions!

CPU : i7
Motherboard : something reliable
Heatsink/Fan : thermaltake heatsink + pwm fans (low sound)
Video Card : one for now, expandability via SLI / other in the future
Sound Card : integrated is fine
RAM : DDR3 preferrable, I dont know the performance expectations
Hard Drive : Have 8x 3.5" Barracude 500GB, may need a RAID card
Case : something quiet (Lian Li v1100?)
Power Supply : Modular
CD/DVD burner : yes
Floppy (optional) : no
Operating System : many! (not an issue)
Ethernet card : 1000MB min

Upgradability is important, as though we have a good budget now to get us started, this wont be something we can buy from scratch annually.
As the ESXi notion likely wont work, 2x or even 3x PCIe2.0 x16 slots for SLI would be nice forward thinking as this will be used for a lot of drafting & modeling.

Any help is immensely appreciated!

Case >> Corsair (CC700D) Obsidian Series 700D Full Tower ATX PC Case | Canada Computers

GPU >> EVGA GeForce GTX 460 1024MB (01G-P3-1370-TR) nVidia GeForce GTX 460 Chipset (720Mhz) 1024MB (3600Mhz) GDDR5 Dual Dual-Link DVI/Mini HDMI PCI-Express 2.0 Graphics Card | Canada Computers

CPU >> Intel Core i7 950 Quad-Core Socket LGA1366, 3.06Ghz, 4.8GT/s FSB, 8MB L3 Cache, 45nm (Retail Boxed) (BX80601950) | Canada Computers