Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2007, 09:12 PM   #31 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

So, a 3600+ Brisbane 1.9GHz stock and a 4400+ Brisbane 2.3 GHz stock can both be oc'ed to say 2.8 steady and will process as virutally identical chips?
__________________

Hookster264 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:18 PM   #32 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

Yes, because they are the same chips. Just that the 4400+'s stock is clocked higher. They both have around the same overclocking potential.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:31 PM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Yes, because they are the same chips. Just that the 4400+'s stock is clocked higher. They both have around the same overclocking potential.
ya the x2 3600+ has the more bang for the buck, not to mention its cheaper .... its way easier to overclock the x2 3600+
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:37 PM   #34 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

Wow, ok thanks for the replies. You saved me $50! Actually, that gives me $50 to drop into the video card.

I was looking at the Geforce 8600GT. The specs say it has a core clock of 540MHz. The 7600GT specs show 560MHz.

I'm still going with the 8600 because of the DirectX 10, but does the core speed matter? Or can the video card be easily oced to a higher MHz anyway?
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:44 PM   #35 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

they are really the same thing... overclock the 8600gt, because their cooler is decent....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:46 PM   #36 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

btw if u get a dx10 card, get a 8600gts atleast... because the rest really stink, because they will struggle with dx10 games.... rumors say that the 8800gts 320mb might not be enough for dx10 gaming, if u can get a x1950pro or something
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:57 PM   #37 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
...rumors say that the 8800gts 320mb might not be enough for dx10 gaming, if u can get a x1950pro or something
Ok, I can't find an x1950pro with DirectX 10
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:59 PM   #38 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hookster264 View Post
Ok, I can't find an x1950pro with DirectX 10
ya the x1950pro is a dx9 card... i'm saying get it and upgrade later to a 9 series dx10 card (when it comes out), more capable of handling it, otherwise its like back when it was dx9 that was new and one had an fx5500 which was one of the first dx9 card.... but then it struggled in the dx9
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 10:13 PM   #39 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
btw if u get a dx10 card, get a 8600gts atleast... because the rest really stink, because they will struggle with dx10 games.... rumors say that the 8800gts 320mb might not be enough for dx10 gaming, if u can get a x1950pro or something
I hate how people still say 8600's suck just cause all the reviews were when it cost $200.. Draw your own conclusions, don't just take it from whatever you effing read.

An 8600GTS is the same thing as the 8600GT except clocked lower and when overclocked the GT slightly beats the GTS stock. (the GTS does have more overclocking potential though but it's not worth it since you seem to be on a tight budget). And at those speeds, it compares to or beats the X1950Pro and also gives you DX10 as an added bonus + new video decoding tech.

It is true however that you shouldn't buy these cards if you're looking for them to play DX10 games well but I'm sure they will play them decently enough.. You obviously won't be playing Crysis with max settings with AA/AF but med-high + tiny bit of aa/af at a lower resolution seems to be reasonable. Unoptimized, it's been shown that a GTX can play it max with a high resolution well so I think the 8600's will do ok.. And the DX10 stuff so far that's been released has only been ports or patches so you really can't say from them who demanding dx10 will really be.
__________________
Old rig sold.. :(

Dell Vostro 1700:
C2D T5470, 8600m GT, WXGA+ screen, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, Vista Ultimate
mrfluffles is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 10:17 PM   #40 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

A little bit of tweaking with my set up and I have room in my budget for the 8600GTS 700MHz. That is of course unless you guys talk me into buying something a little bit more expensive. hehe

After changing my build setup at least 9 times, I think I have the best setup for my $. I'm really looking forward to putting this baby together. I get paid Friday and hopefully have everything early next week!
__________________

Hookster264 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Performance on budget MrAnonymous System Upgrades 18 08-01-2007 07:10 PM
Which is better Brisbane or Windsor and why? shan1784 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-28-2007 05:33 PM
$1000 budget Ajax117 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-30-2007 04:26 PM
gaming pc questions (budget) the zinj New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-17-2007 05:23 PM
Extra budget for gaming rig... Goober New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-13-2007 04:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.