Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2007, 01:56 AM   #11 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hookster264 View Post
but is Brisbane core worth the extra $$?

YES, it is.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 01:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

Yep...nagasama....you are a true AMD overclocker. And you got that Brizzy to 3GHz right?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 02:03 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Also I suggest, you get this ram instead:
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory - Retail
This will make it easier to upgrade, just by getting this stick again for 2gb(when you have the money), and to run in dual channel.
hey Bi1gapal. I got this first just a 1gb same ram that u linked... and I just recently bought a second one... in order to dual channel it... do I need to do something special? or does it just automatically configure once i plug both in?
__________________
CPU: AMD 3600+ Brisbane 2.6ghz
MOBO: BioStar TForce 550SE
Ram: 2x G.SKILL 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 QRs
Video Card: ATI 1950xt 256mb
Case: Cooler Master Centurion 5
PSU: Corsaid 520HX
HSF: Arctic Cooler Freezer 64 PRo
zetahammy is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 02:08 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zetahammy View Post
hey Bi1gapal. I got this first just a 1gb same ram that u linked... and I just recently bought a second one... in order to dual channel it... do I need to do something special? or does it just automatically configure once i plug both in?
Assuming you put them in the right slots on your motherboard then it will configure itself. Check your motherboard manual to see which slots you should put the ram into so it can operate in duel channel.
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 02:39 AM   #15 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zetahammy View Post
hey Bi1gapal. I got this first just a 1gb same ram that u linked... and I just recently bought a second one... in order to dual channel it... do I need to do something special? or does it just automatically configure once i plug both in?
It's automatically configured.

According to the TForce550, it's installing them in the same colored slots for dual channel.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 03:01 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

There really isn't any difference in overclockability between Windsors and Brisbanes even though the Brisbanes run cooler (and you don't need great cooling to max a Windsor).. Buying any Brisbane other then the 3600 is a waste basically since if you're not overclocking, running it cooler doesn't matter (so just get a Windsor) and if you are, all the models overclock the same.

BUT with what you selected so far, you wanna pay 170-180 for CPU+mobo and with just a little more then that, you can get a C2D set-up (which will be FAR better if you decide to overclock). E4300 $110 + Abit IB9 $75AR. Mobo has two minor problems (cold boot bug which happens with a lot of P965 boards and it's weird installing XP with an IDE optical drive but it gives you directions in the manual to do it) but it'll max an E4300 and keep it running well (I have it).
__________________
Old rig sold.. :(

Dell Vostro 1700:
C2D T5470, 8600m GT, WXGA+ screen, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, Vista Ultimate
mrfluffles is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 08:18 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfluffles View Post
BUT with what you selected so far, you wanna pay 170-180 for CPU+mobo and with just a little more then that, you can get a C2D set-up (which will be FAR better if you decide to overclock). E4300 $110 + Abit IB9 $75AR. Mobo has two minor problems (cold boot bug which happens with a lot of P965 boards and it's weird installing XP with an IDE optical drive but it gives you directions in the manual to do it) but it'll max an E4300 and keep it running well (I have it).

I was wondering when someone was going to suggest an Intel build. When I was looking everyone threw Intel at me... Unfortunately I already had my order in so could't take their advice...
__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 10:47 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

Ok, so Brisbane is it then. I'll take the advice and buy the 1Gb stick. It's easy enough to come up with another $45 in a few months and dual channel my RAM.

So which video card is better card for the price?

The GeForce 7600GT - $95
Newegg.com - EVGA 256-P2-N615-TX GeForce 7600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail
-or-
The GeForce 8600GT - $125
Newegg.com - MSI NX8600GT-T2D256E OC GeForce 8600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail

The only difference I see is the clock speed and DirectX 9 vs. 10
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 12:19 PM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Budget PC, Brisbane or Windsor core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfluffles View Post
There really isn't any difference in overclockability between Windsors and Brisbanes even though the Brisbanes run cooler (and you don't need great cooling to max a Windsor).. Buying any Brisbane other then the 3600 is a waste basically since if you're not overclocking, running it cooler doesn't matter (so just get a Windsor) and if you are, all the models overclock the same.
thats not, neccessarily true that the brisbane and windsor will overclock the same. my 4200 winny will only oc to 2.8 (stable). i can stabilize my 3600 at almost 3.2ghz.

b1gapl, yepper i run it everyday at 3+ghz.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Performance on budget MrAnonymous System Upgrades 18 08-01-2007 07:10 PM
Which is better Brisbane or Windsor and why? shan1784 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-28-2007 05:33 PM
$1000 budget Ajax117 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-30-2007 04:26 PM
gaming pc questions (budget) the zinj New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-17-2007 05:23 PM
Extra budget for gaming rig... Goober New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-13-2007 04:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.