Budget gaming PC~ $850 (Have a few things already)

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was thinking about it but Im not 100% sure since its about 40 bucks more for a Cas4 DDR2-800, As stated that Mobo isnt the best, its just average. I don't want blazing fast crazy 3.0+ OC's on it. Around 2.6 or so would be fine for me. Plus wouldnt i be able to OC my ram to about 900 or so? wouldnt that allow me to increase my FSB to about 1800 on my C2D? Do they even go that high???? Sorry but as stated im fairly new to this. Plus that RAM is pretty much one of the best 667's i could find (well actully its 675 but all they did was OC it a bit right) also its only 1.8v meaning i could up that to help it over clock more than the ones with a higher stock voltage right? But as stated i dunno exactly

okay, now I thin that with overclocking ram starts below 667. and 667 is its ceiling, now I am not positive on that.

Also I had another comment; do you have any dc/dvdrom drives lined up for this build? Or do those need to be included in your budget? Newegg has some cd and dvd rw combo drives for like ~$30.
Just thought I would mention that to you.

I have one drive currently that is comming off my current computer, its a brand new 18x DVD Samsung. But thats only one and eventully i plan on getting another for copies

Also does anyone know how hard it will be to OC my 7900GS to 650/1700? I do have cooling fans all over the place.

so it looks like you took my advice on getting the freezer 7 pro. :p
i am currently using it and trust me you will be satisfied once you get it. i lowered my temps a little more than 15 centigrade.

Yea, I just hope my DDR2 675 Cas4 wont bottleneck the OC. Lets say i were to OC the ram past 800, would it still be a large bottleneck or just like you cant go past 3.0 or something. I have no intention of trying to go incredibly high unless I can with this setup, but with this Ram i dunno how high i can go