Budget gaming build - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2009, 01:05 PM   #41 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Budget gaming build

install mobo drivers from CD first then get the latest drivers

mount the psu with the fan pointing down, there are little mounts to keep it off of the bottom of the case.

yes.

and one thing, the 4850X2 might not fit in the case. if it dont then you will need to get a dremel and cut a chunk of the HDD cage out. i had a antec three hundred ( virtually the same as a 900, just smaller top fan and diff front bezel) and i had about .5" from the end of my 9800GTX to the HDD cage, i beleve the 4850X2 is about 11.5" long. just something to watch out for.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 01:14 PM   #42 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Budget gaming build

You could really mount the psu either way. I have mine flipped over with the fan facing up.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 01:34 PM   #43 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 56
Default Re: Budget gaming build

OK good to know, thanks guys. It's out for delivery now, so it should be here any time. Just gotta hope nothing's DOA. I'm super stoked to get it up and running.

Since the HDD cages are removable in the 900, maybe I can just take the bottom one out if there's any clearance issues. Hopefully it'll all fit smoothly, but we'll see.
spizzle is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 02:51 AM   #44 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 56
Default Re: Budget gaming build

Well I'm posting from the new machine right now. It took a little longer to put together than I thought it would (over 2 hours I think), but ultimately all is well. I can see now why modular PSU's are nice, I didn't know what to do with all the frickin cords from mine. Windows is updating and I'm about to install the GPU drivers. Once I do that, it's time to install some games and see how they look. If I overclock I'll probably use Gigabytes Easytune6 since I have no idea what I'm doing on my own. The comp's a little louder than I thought it would be too. I have all fans on medium so maybe I'll have to turn them down to low and see how it runs.

Again thanks to all that helped. It feels really good to have it all up and running with no apparent problems, even if it did get a little frustrating at times.
spizzle is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 03:07 AM   #45 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 326
Default Re: Budget gaming build

I know from personal experience that u should not use
EasyTune6 or any other software to overclock. It's bad ,
mmm kay? In fact , I had problems with all of Gigabyte's
"non-essential" software. Mainly problems with vista 64-bit
compatibility. If you nee help overclocking , seek help here,
watch u-tube vids , etc...
newbiebuilderguy is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 03:20 AM   #46 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 56
Default Re: Budget gaming build

What do you mean it's bad? The settings it uses or what?

My front audio panel on the case doesn't seem to be working. I hooked up the AC-97 jack to the motherboard, should I have hooked up the HD audio one instead??
spizzle is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 07:01 AM   #47 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 326
Default Re: Budget gaming build

Oh , I'm sure you'll hear it from others on the forums.
As soon as I posted that I oc'ed with easytune , I got
reamed by like 50 people telling me NOOOOO!!!!!
Apparently it's far less stable/reliable than manually o.c.ing
newbiebuilderguy is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 03:57 PM   #48 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Budget gaming build

it is a little less stable than overclocking via BIOS but it will overclock the GPU just nicely. and contol fans.

i have had 0 problems with any gigabyte software in vista ultimate 64-bit. every thing works perfectly.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 05:03 PM   #49 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Budget gaming build

Quote:
Originally Posted by spizzle View Post
What do you mean it's bad? The settings it uses or what?

My front audio panel on the case doesn't seem to be working. I hooked up the AC-97 jack to the motherboard, should I have hooked up the HD audio one instead??
I had the same problem, you have to enable it int he manager.
Open up the realtek HD audio manager (shoudl be on the taskbar) on the right there is a panel that says analog, you will notice what looks like a folder. Open it. There check the option to disable the front audio port, I know it seems counter intuitive but it works.

As for overclocking, NEVER use applications to do it. The only time that is ever recommended is when you are going for an absolute WR and you are past the point of boot stable. Otherwise always use the BIOS. We have a guide here in the hardware section, its a little out of date but the lessons still apply.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 08:54 PM   #50 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 326
Default Re: Budget gaming build

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
it is a little less stable than overclocking via BIOS but it will overclock the GPU just nicely. and contol fans.

i have had 0 problems with any gigabyte software in vista ultimate 64-bit. every thing works perfectly.
Which software? I had trouble with Easytune (uninstalled it) and the one that is supposed to save electricity (found it a worthless system hog) I wasn't referring to
bios and other essential stuff. Oh , and yes , I use ATI'S CCC TO OVERCLOCK THE GPU That seems to work fine.
__________________

newbiebuilderguy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New budget gaming rig, need advice/opinions MageLuingil New Systems | Building and Buying 15 08-03-2008 05:37 PM
Budget build in a few months Drizzt System Upgrades 4 01-09-2008 12:56 PM
Super Budget Build - How does it sound to you? spikoman69 New Systems | Building and Buying 31 01-07-2008 10:43 PM
Help with a low budget build Flame Hawk New Systems | Building and Buying 34 08-22-2007 07:18 AM
Wanting a High Performance Gaming Computer On A Budget Farmboy New Systems | Building and Buying 94 08-08-2007 10:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.