budget conroe gaming for 1000 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2006, 11:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default budget conroe gaming for 1000

ok here's what i've put together. I've on a very tight budget w/ this build. what do you guys think

MOBO: $153
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128012
CPU: $193
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115005

PSU: $85
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931
or $50 (w/ mobo combo)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817159033
i like the price for this one because if i get it w/ the mobo it's another $20 off but it it's not worth it then tell me please.

CASE: $41
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811103003

GPU: $160
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150140

RAM: $93
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227046

HDD: $78
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144701

OS: $140
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16832116053

Opticals: $31
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827106019

AS5, Case Fans and CPU HSF: about $75

and $31 for shipping.

total is $1020. i'm willing to pay that much but i'd rather get down to the 1050 range.

also if i buy these parts (some are OEM) will i need to buy cables too or will i have enough w/ the mobo and PSU?
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 11:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

Get the e6400, the e6300 isn't really a conroe. It is alot slower than the others. You may break the back but you will deffenant notic it in performance. If you really can't afoard stick what you have. also shiping may be less because you are buying all at once. Call newegg up and sometimes they themselfs will arange it.
__________________

__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 11:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr DMoney
Get the e6400, the e6300 isn't really a conroe. It is alot slower than the others. You may break the back but you will deffenant notic it in performance. If you really can't afoard stick what you have. also shiping may be less because you are buying all at once. Call newegg up and sometimes they themselfs will arange it.
What are you talking about?

Both the e6300 and the e6400 are Allendale cores. e6600's and up are Conroe cores. The ONLY difference between the cores are Allendales have 2mb of cache and Conroes have 4mb of cache.

The e6300 is slightly slower than the e6400 due to it running at slower frequency, but that's it.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 11:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Also you didnt list your motherboard.


You have your cpu in the link under the mobo.

:classic:
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 02:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
Also you didnt list your motherboard.


You have your cpu in the link under the mobo.

:classic:
haha yeah sorry about that. it's a DS3. i fixed it.

so does that look ok? any comments on the PSUs? i know Antec is awesome and extremely reliable but idk about the other one.

also i've decided to wait and get a HSF for the processor once i wanna OC. i'll be at least 1/2 a year before i'd OC (if not 2-3) so i'm sure i'll have money by then and i'd probably get another set of matched RAM as well.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.