budget conroe build? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2006, 05:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 37
Default budget conroe build?

right, i was gonna go for the e6600, then i thought naa, ill get the am2 3800, now im gonna go for the e6300, and OC the **** out of it, i already have a 430w seasonic psu, 250gb wd hdd, and a 74gb hdd, the crap i got at the mo im gonna sell, that is a asus p4p800se, 1gb geil ram, 6800gt (agp, with vf700) and a p4 northy with zalman heat sink, that should gimmie about £300, for my upgrades im thinkin 7900gt, e6300, 2gb ram and some mobo,:

cpu: http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/114212

mobo: http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/113951

ram: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...ll_Memory.html (top one)

vga: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/7900_Series.html (top one)

well whad ya think? any ideas for gettin the price down, so far its at about £580.

also how much eefect does cache have, is it worth the extra £100 for the e6600??


jimmyness is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 06:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 143

E6300 isn't Conroe.

Khann is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 06:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

what? the E6300 is a desktop Core 2 Duo, so unless i missed something it is a Conroe.

it all seems good to me, i can't really help you out with the motherboard and i definitely wouldn't have a clue about British prices. maybe someone like Trifid can help.
Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you dont think the guitar is cool, then youre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 09:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 143

E6300 is a different core to the E6600+. It's not technically Conroe.
Khann is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 09:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Geek Squad
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788

But it still has all the features, Khann is saying that the E6300 has an Allendale core, which still is pretty much the same as the Conroe, just half the L2 Cache.

Anyways, when it comes to Conroe, nothing is budget atm =P
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good. ~ Samuel Jackson

Omnis vir est fortunae faber
JoshSB is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 11:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Ridlyn's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920

Does it really matter what the name of core really matters, just how well it performs.

It all seems very good to me, but i would try and upgrade the ram to ddr2 800 if you can afford it.
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 04:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to JawnJawn

So which Conroe is the cheapest "real" Conroe?
JawnJawn is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 04:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
CECS Major
Chase's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase

Haha....wow I didn't know the E6300 wasn't technically a real Conroe...JawnJawn, don't worry about the name (although right now it is really cool to say "hey, I have a Conroe"). Worry more about performance vs $$. Which right now your setup looks nice.

Chase is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 07:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 143

Yeah it doesn't really matter, I was just being a smart arse, lol.
Khann is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 07:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn

The only "real" Conroes are the E6600 and above. If you want a budget Conroe build, get the $130 motherboard from Intel, and an E6300. With a good third party heatsink/fan and a little luck you could break 3GHz.

Orayn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.