buddies looking at upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2005, 03:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default buddies looking at upgrade

he's thinkin' heavily about a new build so i told him i'd see what i could come up with.

he doesn't need a psu, monitor, hd, case and doesn't want to spend the money for the duel core.
he wants it under under $1800 canadian

here's what i found

mobo: dfi ultra-d
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...&sku=D452-2030

cpu: athlon64 4000+
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...1-A64-4000%20E

ram: ocz
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...&sku=O261-4910

graphics: evga 7800 gt
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...145-7802%20BF2

totals:
$1659.94 canadian dollars


any suggestions would be good.
thanks.
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Is he not interested in OC'ing? If not, that RAM will do, but if he is, you will want to get a better set. If money was a problem, you could easily drop to a 3700 with out much of a performance hit. Either way, it'll scream

BTW, I found this odd:

Quote:
Value series runs at 3-4-4-8 timings and is built with Ultra-Low Noise (ULN) PCB construction.
I have never had a problem with excessive noise from my RAM lol
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

mocc.ca
nicix.com

Those places are both better than tigerdirect

But yeah...are you sure the current PSU can handle a 7800 and a 4000+, because you really don't want to cut corners with the PSU...also, I don't see why you can't afford a 3800+ Manchester if you can afford a 4000+ San Diego

Quote:
I have never had a problem with excessive noise from my RAM lol
Think that is regarding electric interference
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 05:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Think that is regarding electric interference
Attached Images
File Type: gif amstupid.gif (1.6 KB, 35 views)
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 05:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

gaara... I've never heard of a manchester core! I thought san diego was pretty much it right now... Hmm, I'll google it!

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 05:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
gaara... I've never heard of a manchester core! I thought san diego was pretty much it right now... Hmm, I'll google it!

Ryan
It's one of the dual core cores. Manchester and Toledo.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 07:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Why wouldn't he want to go with an X2? Just because of budget reasons? Does he plan to have it be a gaming rig? 4000+ is an ok processor, if your going for everyday use, you don't need anything above a 3000+.
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 07:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by idiotec
Is he not interested in OC'ing? If not, that RAM will do, but if he is, you will want to get a better set. If money was a problem, you could easily drop to a 3700 with out much of a performance hit. Either way, it'll scream

BTW, I found this odd:


I have never had a problem with excessive noise from my RAM lol

nah, he's not really lookin' to overclock.

i'll check the 3700 price out. thanks.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 07:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by majistic
Why wouldn't he want to go with an X2? Just because of budget reasons? Does he plan to have it be a gaming rig? 4000+ is an ok processor, if your going for everyday use, you don't need anything above a 3000+.
yea, he's got a budjet cause he's gettin' a 2006 4-wheeler too and wants the extra's for it.

he plays mostly games, but, doesn't need flat out top of the line.

so, that mobo is X2 ready right? so, if he decides a year down the road he wants X2 he could get it.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 09-28-2005, 07:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
mocc.ca
nicix.com

Those places are both better than tigerdirect

But yeah...are you sure the current PSU can handle a 7800 and a 4000+, because you really don't want to cut corners with the PSU...also, I don't see why you can't afford a 3800+ Manchester if you can afford a 4000+ San Diego

Think that is regarding electric interference
i didn't see any 3800 on tiger.....so i'll check prices somehwere else for it.

he's got something like a true 450 antec psu, so i would assume it could handle it. probably the lowest i'd go, but.....
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.