BTX Socket 939 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2006, 02:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default BTX Socket 939

Does anyone know of a good socket 939 motherboard?
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 02:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Never going to happen, AMD themselves stated that unless the consumer market has any demand for it, as in, a VERY high demand, they won't be designing any BTX motherboards or processors for it.

I mean, think about it, why does AMD need it? AMD's run really cool anyways.
__________________

septoid2 is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 03:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

if they did do it they can overclock more and beat intel even worse, unless you have a cedar mill or presler core with water cooling, it goes up around 5ghz.

plus why wouldn't you want it even cooler?
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 03:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

My AMD runs like a hotplate. LOL
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 03:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

Im fine but i think something new like that is kinda cool.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 04:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

Well, has AMD announced any plans to intitiate any new form factors? I know they probably don't need to change (Like you guys said, they run pretty cool), but maybe they might be working on a new form factor.

When we went from AT to ATX it was pretty cool, ATX is good, but I think it's time for a new form factor, if not for cooler components then for the sake of change.
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 05:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

YEa its called BTX. Go get a BTX case and put your mobo upside down.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 05:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

I hope there will be AM2 BTX motherboards in the near future I specifically bought my case for BTX upgrades just in case . I know people say AMD are already cool but would'nt a form factor that makes it even cooler be a good thing?
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 06:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

Quote:
YEa its called BTX. Go get a BTX case and put your mobo upside down
If you put a mobo upside down, the I/O ports would be on the inside of the case..

Also like said above, its not like being any cooler could be a bad thing.
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 06:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

Somebody here has done it and i know its possible to do.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.