Which brand X1900XT / XTX ??? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2006, 06:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
adam02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 353
Default

i got me an OEM sapphire x1900xt and its great, but i was told theyre all the same.
__________________

adam02 is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 06:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 249
Default

Good choice. The Sapphire and the HIS are top rated. Let us know what type of overclock you get with it.
__________________

Timaphillips is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 09:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

doesnt ATI sell its own cards? unliked nVidia?
john3 is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 09:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
adam02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 353
Default

^^ Yes they do, but they are really the same cards. the only thing that differs is the manufacturer service, customer service, availability, price.

Go with sapphire, cant go wrong
adam02 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:56 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Okay, I'll definitely go for the Sapphire 1900 XT (since I'll probably end up using Crossfire, which is better than a single XTX, right)?

Does anyone know what a good OC speed for the 1900XT (I presume it's a bit higher than the XTX's speed) is? Or should I just experiment until I come up with a good speed that's not too hot (I don't know much about overclocking but I hear that it's not too hard with these cards; as simple as dragging a slider in the config, correct?)?
SWCheetah is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:59 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 249
Default

Yes, get the XT for Crossfire...As for overclocking, I use ATI Tray Tools which will actually find the highest overclock for you. You basically increase the MHz until it shows artifacts (it will tell you). One you reach that highest possile speed, decrease it to 10 MHz below that and you should be safe. Other people use Rivatuner which I hear is good too and probably works about the same. Download them from www.guru3d.com

Your speeds should reach or even go over the XTX speeds. I've read that even if you don't increase it all that much, it's still going to increase performance alot. Something about the difference in MHz being much bigger than previous cards. Probably something to do with the new architecture.

Let us know what kind of speeds you get. Oh yeah, as for how hot should you let it go...Most people don't like their cards running hotter than 70. I keep mine overclocked and maxed out and it doesn't reach higher than 65 with the HIS cooler. Search the forum for more info. on that. I think there's a sticky somewhere about all of this.
Timaphillips is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 05:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Okay, cool. Thanks a lot.
__________________

SWCheetah is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.