Bought Crysis... how's everyone else's system holding up?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2007, 11:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Talking Bought Crysis... how's everyone else's system holding up??

So I just played for about 3 hours of Crysis on NORMAL mode and it's hard as sh*t. It takes a while for you to get used to all the controls.

I have EVERYTHING set on medium and it runs SMOOTHLY using the x1950xt.

Graphics wise, I don't know why, but it doesn't look that amazing. I've been looking at too many videos of Crysis and I just got used to it. LOL.

How are the people with the 8800gt's doing? If my system runs Crysis this smoothly on medium I'm sure 8800 people are having a blast (on high settings?).

Bought this for $39.99!! LOL!!
__________________

__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Bought Crysis... how's everyone else's system holding up??

Uhh 15 FPS with an 8800GT. Core 2 Duo E6420, 2GB of 667.

Everything on Medium, 4X AA and 1440X900 with Vista.

Ima turn down monitor resolution and AA totally off and hopefully that helps.
__________________

Deadpixel is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Bought Crysis... how's everyone else's system holding up??

30-40 FPS with SLI @1920x1200 all settings high, dx9 But ive been more enthralled with playing CoD4. Also, i got mine for 29.99. On sale for 39.99 with a free 10$ gift card. I love how circuit city has become the new goto place for pc gaming.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
saikojay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 60
Default Re: Bought Crysis... how's everyone else's system holding up??

does crysis require vista?
__________________
AMD Athlon 2500+ OCED to 2.0ghz | A7N8X | GeForce 7600 GS | SB Audigy 2 Platinum |1gb RAM PC 3200
saikojay is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default Re: Bought Crysis... how's everyone else's system holding up??

Quote:
Originally Posted by saikojay View Post
does crysis require vista?
No, the game is compatible with XP, Vista 32bit, 64bit and is DX9 & 10 out of the box. Obviously if you want the DX10 stuff you need Vista and a DX10 card.
Also if you play in XP you don't have the Very High Setting ( but you can enable it with some sort of tweak [do a google search for that]) Anyway that setting is useless right now because is far too much for current Video Card hardware so there is no point playing in that setting unless you really want to.
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Bought Crysis... how's everyone else's system holding up??

"Supposedly" and this is all hearsay right now, but the game is supposed to run best on 64bit vista dx10. Sadly my newegg order wont show up until monday so i wont be able to test dx10 and vista 64 until then.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Bought Crysis... how's everyone else's system holding up??

Im running DX10 wiht it and an 8800GT everything on medium 4XAA at 15FPS smooth not choppy FPS.

Playing on a 1440X900.

Gonna turn down AA to off and see if its any better.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Bought Crysis... how's everyone else's system holding up??

Ya, AA off and try it with everything else up.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default Re: Bought Crysis... how's everyone else's system holding up??

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
"Supposedly" and this is all hearsay right now, but the game is supposed to run best on 64bit vista dx10. Sadly my newegg order wont show up until monday so i wont be able to test dx10 and vista 64 until then.
Well thats what Crytek CEO Cevat Yerli said in this Interview Q&A: Crytek CEO specs out Crysis

But that maybe is not true at all at least in the demo, we'll have to see if is the same thing in the retail game.

This is very recent so you might want to check it out:

Tech ARP - ED#66 : Is 64-Bit Crysis Really Faster Than 32-Bit Crysis? Rev. 2.0
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Old 11-16-2007, 12:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Bought Crysis... how's everyone else's system holding up??

1280X960 no AA all medium 40 FPS with 8800GT Decent not multiplayer is lame.

Gonna be playing single player a lot tho.
__________________

Deadpixel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
Crysis System Requirments Question... Oreo PC Gaming 0 10-16-2007 06:19 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.