Bought a brand new system need to know anything wrong with specs! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2012, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default Bought a brand new system need to know anything wrong with specs!

[TABLE]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]CAS: In-Win Mana 136 Mid-Tower Gaming Case [-24][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]CD: 24X Double Layer Dual Format DVD+-R/+-RW + CD-R/RW Drive (BLACK COLOR)[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]COOLANT: Standard Coolant[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]CPU: AMD FX-4100 3.60 GHz Quad-Core AM3+ CPU 4MB L2 Cache & Turbo Core Technology[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]CS_FAN: Default case fans[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]FAN: Asetek 510LC Liquid Cooling System 120MM Radiator & Fan (Enhanced Cooling Performance + Extreme Silent at 20dBA) (Single Standard 120MM Fan)[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]FLASHMEDIA: INTERNAL 12in1 Flash Media Reader/Writer (BLACK COLOR)[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]HDD: 2TB (2TBx1) SATA-III 6.0Gb/s 64MB Cache Power Saving 5900 RPM HDD [-20] (Single Drive)[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]IUSB: Built-in USB 2.0 Ports[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]KEYBOARD: Razer Arctosa Black USB Gaming Keyboard [+38][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]MEMORY: 8GB (2GBx4) DDR3/1600MHz Dual Channel Memory (Corsair or Major Brand)[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]MOTHERBOARD: * [CrossFireX] GigaByte GA-970A-D3 AMD 970 Socket AM3+ ATX Mainboard w/ On/Off Charge, 7.1 Audio, GbLAN, USB3.0, SATA-III RAID, 2 Gen2 PCIe X16, 3 PCIe X1 & 2 PCI[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]MOUSE: Razer Black Naga Molten 5600 DPI USB Wired Laser Special Edition Gaming Mouse [+65][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]NCSW: None[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]NETWORK: Onboard Gigabit LAN Network[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]OS: Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium [+104] (64-bit Edition)[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]OVERCLOCK: No Overclocking[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]POWERSUPPLY: 700 Watts - XtremeGear SLI/CrossFireX Ready Power Supply[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]SERVICE: STANDARD WARRANTY: 3-YEAR LIMITED WARRANTY PLUS LIFE-TIME TECHNICAL SUPPORT[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]SOUND: HIGH DEFINITION ON-BOARD 7.1 AUDIO[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]SPEAKERS: 600Watts PMPO Subwoofer Stereo Speakers[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list, align: center"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: list"]VIDEO: AMD Radeon HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 16X PCIe Video Card [-50] (Major Brand Powered by AMD[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
__________________

Brenden is offline  
Old 01-20-2012, 01:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Bought a brand new system need to know anything wrong with specs!

Personally would get a 960T over 4100.
You might find the 5900RPM hard drive to be rather slow.
And I don't know how much you can trust an XtremeGear power supply (not that you have a choice with iBuypower/CyberPower).
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 01-20-2012, 05:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Bought a brand new system need to know anything wrong with specs!

I wouldnt do a 5900rpm hdd for my boot drive.

I tried it and it was just too slow for me. It was so slow that I ended up taking out the 2tb and putting in a 7200 1tb drive.

Also I have been reading that the new FX series arent anything special for the price.
Ronnie is offline  
Old 01-20-2012, 04:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default Re: Bought a brand new system need to know anything wrong with specs!

well i got the tower for roughly 700, and im not looking to for tooo fast, mainly for swtor and wow on high/ ultra
Brenden is offline  
Old 01-21-2012, 02:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: Bought a brand new system need to know anything wrong with specs!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roark View Post
And I don't know how much you can trust an XtremeGear power supply (not that you have a choice with iBuypower/CyberPower).
They do offer Corsair and other reputable PSU's, but they'll cost you.
__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 01-22-2012, 12:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: Bought a brand new system need to know anything wrong with specs!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brenden View Post
well i got the tower for roughly 700, and im not looking to for tooo fast, mainly for swtor and wow on high/ ultra
For gaming, the 7200 RPM would come in handy. The higher speed would increase the loading time of just about anything. As an example, in RPG games, when you run or travel fast into a large city, at times it may take the city a second or two to load. This loading time, although having no loading screen, is partially based on hard drive speed.
__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 01-22-2012, 08:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: texas
Posts: 8
Default Re: Bought a brand new system need to know anything wrong with specs!

I would steer away from the XtremeGear power supply as a friends caught fire just weeks after getting it.
raptor777 is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 04:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default Re: Bought a brand new system need to know anything wrong with specs!

is replacing the extreme gear really nessacary? (ive already ordered) but in your opinions your dangerous is it? cause i probaly run 4-5 hours a day pretty, and its off for the rest of the day.


Edit: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Corsair+...&skuId=2193311 im probaly gonna pick this up this weekend to insure it. i just received the tower tonight
Brenden is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 05:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: Bought a brand new system need to know anything wrong with specs!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brenden View Post
is replacing the extreme gear really nessacary? (ive already ordered) but in your opinions your dangerous is it? cause i probaly run 4-5 hours a day pretty, and its off for the rest of the day.
Replacing it now would be hard to do, since you've already ordered. I would try though. If that's not possible, I would HIGHLY suggest buying one a higher quality one and replacing it. A low quality PSU puts your entire system at risk. Just look at this one:

__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 05:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 54
Default Re: Bought a brand new system need to know anything wrong with specs!

Quote:
Originally Posted by tj_extreme View Post
Replacing it now would be hard to do, since you've already ordered. I would try though. If that's not possible, I would HIGHLY suggest buying one a higher quality one and replacing it. A low quality PSU puts your entire system at risk. Just look at this one:

I am posting to hit on the same points as others already mentioned. That power supply is a disaster waiting to happen. I am a huge corsair fanboy. I have never had an issue with their PSU's. Having a faulty PSU or one that is less powerful than you need can destroy your system. DO NOT risk either. Go with a reputable one. If they won't change it before arrival, send it back when it arrives and get your money back.

Also, I agree that the CPU is nothing special for the price. I switched from AMD to Intel when AMD bought ATI and haven't looked back.

When making this type of thread, allow a few days for all the forum trolls (like me) to get in here and comment. You'd be surprised how many threads some people here read and research per day.

-Draco
__________________

DracoRedux is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting wireless internet, bought the wrong equipment? miaow Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 05-21-2008 06:11 AM
Bought Crysis... how's everyone else's system holding up?? OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 17 11-16-2007 04:23 AM
builbing computer, bought wrong hdd, new mobo. sona1111 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-22-2007 09:17 PM
Bought a computer need help to see if matches specs when advertised Raze Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 196 10-17-2005 04:17 PM
Computer showing wrong specs? JeffK91 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 03-20-2005 12:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.