Bottlenecking question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2006, 06:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 50
Default Bottlenecking question

I vaguely know what bottlenecking is, (just by visualizing how a bottle is actually shaped I think I get the idea), and I'm thinking about getting a 1900xtx.

I have an amd 3500+ clocked at about 2.41 Ghz, and someone on another forum told me that my proccessor might not allow the xtx to run at full performance.

Is this true?
__________________

__________________
a
Sell224 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 08:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
adam02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 353
Default

nope i run a AMD 3700+ san diego and its more than enough, your 3500+ shouldnt bottleneck it.

im using the X1900XT which is a 25MHZ and 50Mhz OC away, i would get the X1900XT instead of the X1900XTX.
__________________

adam02 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 08:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

k, repetition of what gaara said, CPUs cannot bottleneck GPUs.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 08:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
mole1135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 347
Send a message via AIM to mole1135 Send a message via Yahoo to mole1135
Default

heck no... I have the same processor and graphics card and it runs great and my proc isnt even overclocked
__________________


AIM- Mole1135 Yahoo mail- Mole1135@yahoo.com
mole1135 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 11:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

A CPU cannot bottle neck a gpu.. however, it can severly limit the gameplay.. but with your cpu overclocked and what not, your in fine shape
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 11:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Your CPU is great. Games aren't very demanding on the processor anyways, your CPU and a x1900xt will kill any game out there
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 11:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Your CPU is working at 4000+ speeds, you'll be fine. But go for the X1900XT which is just barely slower than the X1900XTX and OC it and save yourself the $50-100.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 11:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

maybe he wants the XTX to over clock to get higher?
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.