Bottlenecking - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2008, 05:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Bottlenecking

vernong - Right now I'm working on slowly overclocking, testing here and there, going about 200mhz, testing. Its starting to get on the hot side with the stock heatsink, cores temps maxing at 25c in coretemp, and cpu temp at about 42c max in speedfan. Prime95 stressing, 1 ran per core. How much farther should i go with temps?
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 05:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Bottlenecking

you should consider getting an Arctic Freezer pro 64 on newegg for $20
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 05:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Bottlenecking

and you can easily get up to around 55C load and be very comfortable. I plan on running mine up to about 60/65C on load. and you want to stress all cores.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 05:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Bottlenecking

anyone know if there is a cpu temp monitor that works for the e8400? ill have my stuff tomorrow, and i heard all this stuffa bout how the temps are read wrong.
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 05:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Bottlenecking

lol Don't thread jack

um try Everest or Core Temp... they should work
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 05:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Bottlenecking

Quote:
Originally Posted by braz View Post
anyone know if there is a cpu temp monitor that works for the e8400? ill have my stuff tomorrow, and i heard all this stuffa bout how the temps are read wrong.
just an answer, cus I have it.

I am not sure if mine are right or not. Core temp, on stock, reads mine at like 38/40C, but at full load at 4ghz they were only like 50C. So I dont know what is right. I read somewhere that anything over 50C was accurate, but they were not being read correctly at anything lower. I havent tried everest, and I wont until I get xp back and am OCing it that OS again. maybe start an OC thread with yours, and see what works
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Am I Bottlenecking? SpikedCola Microsoft Windows and Software 33 02-18-2008 11:01 PM
New Computer for Vernong!!!! Peter.Cort System Upgrades 58 11-14-2007 09:32 PM
I am bottlenecking my GPU? krazieaznboi New Systems | Building and Buying 7 08-07-2007 02:37 AM
Issue with FPS in Counter-Strike:Source, bottlenecking? Aaron023 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 07-01-2007 04:55 PM
bottlenecking funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-10-2007 07:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.