Bottleneck Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2007, 05:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
agentnibbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 44
Default Bottleneck Question

I have an AMD +3800 X2 Socket 939 running with a 7800GT. I don't know if it is bottlenecking my performance. How bad would my processor bottleneck a 8800GTX/GTS? What if I got an FX-57, would it bottleneck? Am I at a disadvantage running socket 939 instead of AM2? I have 2GB DDR400 memory, and plan to run MoH:A and CoD4:MW at maximum graphics settings.

Another question: What is the best upgrade I can get without replacing my Socket 939 motherboard and memory?
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 945 Deneb 3.0GHz | Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3P | Crucial 2GB DDR3@1333 | BFG GeForce 9800GTX | X-Fi XtremeMusic
agentnibbles is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 05:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Bottleneck Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by agentnibbles View Post
I have an AMD +3800 X2 Socket 939 running with a 7800GT. I don't know if it is bottlenecking my performance. How bad would my processor bottleneck a 8800GTX/GTS? What if I got an FX-57, would it bottleneck? Am I at a disadvantage running socket 939 instead of AM2? I have 2GB DDR400 memory, and plan to run MoH:A and CoD4:MW at maximum graphics settings.
why would u do that.... time to upgrade to AM2.... and fx-57 is singlecore i think.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 05:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Bottleneck Question

im sure you could find a fx-60 dual core cheap that would help you out
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 05:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Bottleneck Question

Quote:
Another question: What is the best upgrade I can get without replacing my Socket 939 motherboard and memory?

By getting 8800GTS 320MB .....
maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 05:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
agentnibbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 44
Default Re: Bottleneck Question

and my cpu wouldn't bottleneck it? i doubt that...
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 945 Deneb 3.0GHz | Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3P | Crucial 2GB DDR3@1333 | BFG GeForce 9800GTX | X-Fi XtremeMusic
agentnibbles is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 05:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Bottleneck Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by agentnibbles View Post
and my cpu wouldn't bottleneck it? i doubt that...
get an opty 165 or see if u get an fx-60 cheap
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 06:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Bottleneck Question

your currant cpu wouldnt be bottlenecking a 7800 anyway but i dont think you'd get the most out of a 8800 using that processor, you could always get a x2 4400 or something if you wanted to keep the 939 board, you cant get much better than that if you keep the same mobo
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 06:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Bottleneck Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonny_uk View Post
your currant cpu wouldnt be bottlenecking a 7800 anyway but i dont think you'd get the most out of a 8800 using that processor, you could always get a x2 4400 or something if you wanted to keep the 939 board, you cant get much better than that if you keep the same mobo
he was talking about the 8800...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 07:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Bottleneck Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
he was talking about the 8800...
Thats why i covered both cards :laughing:
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 07:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Bottleneck Question

if you can clock your 3800 to say like....2.5ghz....you shouldn't run into much of a bottleneck i dont think, if you are using the 8800gts 320. definitely not with the 7800gt, if you even are now.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about Video Cards and Compiz Fusion aetherh4cker Linux and Open Source 4 07-19-2007 04:16 PM
Question using RadioButton in VB.Net punkin Programming 4 07-08-2007 11:20 PM
Ram OC question zetahammy Overclocking and Modding 0 06-16-2007 01:18 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.