boot without a cpu? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2006, 07:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Can a PC boot up without a CPU!!! Ok fair enough he may not know all that much, but to point this out to the fella that posted that question. All information in a PC including how to boot is sent to the processor, hence, its needed for the PC to even start.
__________________

danniboy344 is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 07:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default



You know I'm not actually looking for it to boot as in an actual system boot but just to turn on, run the fans...stuff like that.

I spent last night putting together my pc and have no conroe, but need to test out my airflow! That's all I needed. But I was wondering if without a cpu, if it would "disallow" any electrical flow or not. So does it? Of course new and old cases, mbs, and psus...I'm thinking about pulling one of the cpus in my computers I have at home just to see.



feh, people who claim to know more than others often don't. hehe
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 08:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

ok, so I answered my own question with an actual attempt...but of course on an old computer and unsure if they still operate the same way.

But for anyone else curious, your case fans will power up and work without the cpu ;p
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 10:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

But you asked if it could boot, and people said no. Not if they fans would still turn on and such.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 03:56 AM   #15 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

No it won't post, no it won't boot, but the fans might turn on. You can buy a psu tester that will give you that effect too. Boot has to do with the begining to load an OS, and is way past turning on fans.
__________________

Sui is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.