Boot Problems!Windows! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2006, 07:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default Boot Problems!Windows!

ok so my compurter ran fine for 2 days then i wasnt using it since sunday and now i come to use ti now and get this message after POST.:Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:\Windows]system32\config\system

you can attempt to repair this file by starting Windows setup using the original setup cd-rom.Select "r" at the first screen to start repair.



so i enter my original xp cd and on the first boot screen i press r and continbue through the 2nd screen. nothing happens, same message. then i go into BIOS and chance boot priority to cd drive so i can try and re-install windows, same message. please help me!
__________________
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 08:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

come on guys i need some serious im freaking out here!
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 08:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

dude try warezmonster .. find him he is the man for OSes .. i cant help i dont know whats wrong
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 08:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

yes i just tried to boot from cd again in POST it says press anykey to boot from cd i press a key and i get the message. cleqar cmos i guess
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 08:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

that might work ... did you look for warezmonster??
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 08:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

ya im ining him now
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 11:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 139
Send a message via AIM to X2Xtreme360
Default

go here.

http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_sys32.htm
X2Xtreme360 is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 12:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 360
Default

i got that same thing once it ****ed me off majorly i had to reinstall my whole os it really sucked balls
ITZBVAN005 is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 12:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Pushing R on that screen doesn't work. You must enter into the Windows installation, then choose to repair it. I believe it goes to the menu where it shows the partitions. Select the partition your OS is on and choose to repair it from there. I think that's the way to do it.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 06:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

i got it.warez monster after some trouble led me to the finish
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.