Blonde moment - motherboards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2008, 01:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Blonde moment - motherboards

heya Sexy people I am back again after helping countless noobs on here . Need some help myself....

If I change motherboards I need to reinstall xp right? Will my windows configured raid array (2x500gb) become corrupted and need reformatting aswell? I know that formatting the 320gb which I keep my OS on can handle being reformatted and xp installed without corrupting the raid array (I have done this myself) but would the mobo add extra factors?

The motherboard in question is the orgasmic striker 2 Formula which is possibly the 3rd best mobo on the market as acclaimed by many review sites. ASUSTeK Computer Inc.

I have found this article about windows automagically working
Windows Software RAID Guide
but want some of your tech experience
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 03:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Blonde moment - motherboards

if it were me i would back up all of my important data and reformat every thing. then reinstall XP
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 04:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Blonde moment - motherboards

well obviously thats just a given no offence Any software or hardware change requires a backup just incase as u can never be sure
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 04:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Blonde moment - motherboards

If its XP, all you'll have to do when swapping out a motherboard is perform a repair install.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 03:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Blonde moment - motherboards

Anyone else think of any issues either with the motherboard or the RAID array?
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats the main difference between these two motherboards? Ric0h New Systems | Building and Buying 5 06-07-2008 12:23 AM
Hardware Shopping, New Harddrives and Motherboards yaminohaka New Systems | Building and Buying 33 07-25-2007 06:37 PM
Should I get a PC at the moment? multi86 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-17-2007 11:13 PM
Gigabyte United Preps DDR3 Motherboards maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-01-2007 08:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.