Bitten Off More Than I Can Chew! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2006, 10:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Unhappy Bitten Off More Than I Can Chew!

I'm an ultra noobie at building a PC. I read a few articles, thought it can't be that hard, picked what I thought where the best components for my budget and cracked on with it.

I installed the motherboard, CPU, CPU Heatsink and Fan, RAM, and Graphics Card.

Went to fire it up just to see if it would reach POST and recognise the CPU and RAM.

Everything lights up fine, CPU fans spin for a bit and then stop. The monitor says no signal. Any ideas?

Oh yeah I used an anti-static wrist strap and everything!

The motherboard is a ASUS Crosshair Republic of Gamers
The CPU is AMD Athlon 64X2 3800+
The RAM is 1GB corsair DDR2 6400
The GC is nvidia GeForce 7300 GT (PCI-E).
__________________

Subtle81 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 10:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

something's not plugged in right.

* check that the motherboard has two power cables plugged in
* check that the RAM is place in properly
* take out everything except for the motherboard, CPU, video card, and RAM. test it like that first.

what power supply are you using?
if it doesn't provide enough power, it won't work.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 10:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Default

I have plugged in the 24-pin EATXPWR, I didnt realise that there were two power cables to the Motherboard.

Thanks for the speedy reply. I will give it a shot.
Subtle81 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 10:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes, there's the 24-pin one (or 20-pin for systems with AGP instead of PCI-E)
and there's also an extra 4-pin (square) connector
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 10:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Nice one, jobs a gooden. Thanks for the help
Subtle81 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 11:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

so it works now?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 12:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Subtle81
Nice one, jobs a gooden
translating.........yes it works
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.