birthday budget gaming build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2006, 05:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 165
Default birthday budget gaming build

Hello, well instead of just buying me a video game my dad figures hes gonna get me a computer to just surf the net, great, well he has a budget of like 400 dollars so im trying to squeez as much performance out of it as possible, this is what one guy offerd for 400 canadian.

Mother board: Asus A8N5K
CPU: AMD 64 3200+
Ram: 1 GB Dual Channel DDR400 OCZ
GPU: Evga G-force 7300GT 512mb

SO will this run games? Like F.E.A.R, Age of empires 3, battle feild 2, and medival total war 2?

Thansk alot!

(i think it will cause i can run those games on medium on ym comp thats a 3.0ghz intel, 1gb ddr2 ram and 6600le card)
__________________

ki9090 is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 06:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Looks nice except for the GPU. THe 7300 series are bad. Try for the 7600GS or GT.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 06:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

You'd still need a power supply, case, hardrive, dvd-burner.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 05:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RalliArt882
You'd still need a power supply, case, hardrive, dvd-burner.
Ya i got all that stuff, i just wanted to put the essentials for gaming power, the guy offerd me a 7600gs for the same price as the 7300gt is it tha much better?
ki9090 is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 05:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default

by a fair bit yes, especially if it's the same price. although that depends on how much he's asked for it in the first place...
EDIT: and it should definitely play FEAR. I can play FEAR on a 6800gs (oc'd) on about medium settings
__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 05:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 165
Default

Hes asking 150 canadian for it, dont know how good that is.

Buit after getting this im just gona upgrade it, my mobo supports all the AMD cards except for the new AM2 and ill probably get a new card when the G80 come out so i can start from the top (the mobo does have PCI-E) plus i can always upgrade ram (its pretty reasonable price)
ki9090 is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 05:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

snag it... but make sure you have at least a 400W psu... but it looks like a decent deal.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 05:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
snag it... but make sure you have at least a 400W psu... but it looks like a decent deal.
So u agree that i can do some good with this machine in gaming? Cause i want the "expert" advice on if this baby can be upgraded to perform well say next year when the newer games come out like UT 2007? Like it can take the new graphics cards and put in a new CPU (does amd still make alot of S939 CPUS??)

I just want to make sure, dont want to buy something just CAUSE its a deal you know? Dont want to waste a B-day
ki9090 is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 05:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default

hmm... well, if you're gonna upgrade it, and you're gonna upgrade the mobo, then personally, i'd get a core2 mobo, seeing as they're the best out that the moment (core2 that is). but then again the quad cores are coming out soonish, so it'll probably all change then.

and thats a pretty good price for a 7600.
__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 05:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by small256
hmm... well, if you're gonna upgrade it, and you're gonna upgrade the mobo, then personally, i'd get a core2 mobo, seeing as they're the best out that the moment. but then again the quad cores are coming out soonish, so it'll probably all change then.

and thats a pretty good price for a 7600.
Well i didnt plan on upgrading the mobo if u look at my above post.... do you think i could take this thing far enough in it current mobo for games next year (with upgraed to the GPU,CPU,Ram)
__________________

ki9090 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.