BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2007, 10:58 PM   #41 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
I dont have to be grateful cause I worked for all my stuff so :P
haha same here
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 11:12 PM   #42 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
Ye but it shouldnt run this hot should it? Idle temps are very hot. Maybe my motherboard is reading the temps wrong? My mobo temp is like 38C and my cpu temps are 10~15*C hotter on idle compared to my mobo temps.

When I had the E6600, it used to be that the Core temps were lower than the CPU temps, but now they are like 10~15 degrees hotter than the cpu temp.

I just dont understand it.
oh heck then rely on the solution many rely on...just RMA the whole darn thing
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:02 AM   #43 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

When I first installed my QX6700 (remember its B3) with the STOCK HSF, idle temps were about 52C so I bought a Zalman 9700. With the Zalman, my temps were more around 40C at idle. That wasn't acceptable for me just because I'm me so I invested in a custom watercooling system. Right now my cpu temp, according to Speedfan, is 29C. I personally think that whole G0 stepping stuff didn't really affect temps like people were raving. I'm sure it made some improvement somewhere but I haven't seen anybody with improved temps from what I saw, correct me if I'm wrong. I just think that if you want to overclock a quad with good temps, you need watercooling. I'm not telling you to get watercooling, it just seems like the only way to make it work the way you want it to is to get watercooling.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:09 AM   #44 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Sorry for the double post, dorm internet went wacky on me =/
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:10 AM   #45 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferarri View Post
When I first installed my QX6700 (remember its B3) with the STOCK HSF, idle temps were about 52C so I bought a Zalman 9700. With the Zalman, my temps were more around 40C at idle. That wasn't acceptable for me just because I'm me so I invested in a custom watercooling system. Right now my cpu temp, according to Speedfan, is 29C. I personally think that whole G0 stepping stuff didn't really affect temps like people were raving. I'm sure it made some improvement somewhere but I haven't seen anybody with improved temps from what I saw, correct me if I'm wrong. I just think that if you want to overclock a quad with good temps, you need watercooling. I'm not telling you to get watercooling, it just seems like the only way to make it work the way you want it to is to get watercooling.
Wow good to hear. I know that my temps have gone down to 35C on idle though before I reseated it. And that was at 3.0GHz, now after reseating it, when I checked the BIOS, it was at 60C. I guess on the Zalman Thermal Compound I used, less is more indeed, more temperature and things to worry about that is.

I wish I didnt reseat it

Well, grrr, just cant wait to order the Arctic MX-2.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:24 AM   #46 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferarri View Post
When I first installed my QX6700 (remember its B3) with the STOCK HSF, with stock settings, my temps were 52C idle so I bought a Zalman 9700. My temps with the Zalman were around 42C, but that wasnt good enough for me just because I'm me so I invested in a custom watercooling setup. Right now my temps are 29C, according to Speedfan, at stock. If I bump it up to 3.3GHz, my temps only go up about 3-4C at 1.35 vCore. If you ask me, the whole G0 stepping thing didn't noticeably affect temps like everyone was raving. I haven't seen one person with temps that were considerably lower than what I saw at my various stages of cooling, correct me if I'm wrong. I think that if you want to overclock a quad and get the temps that you want, watercooling is necessary. I'm not trying to tell you to buy watercooling, but it works wonderfully for me and my temps are lower than all others that I have seen, again correct me if you have seen lower temps.

OT* what voltage settings are you using on your 680i board?

im on 3.2 right now, and i only see 35* max at idle. thats with the speedstep disabled.

if you go over to xtremesystems, there are multiple people that were complaining how hot the B3's ran compared to the new G0's. most of the B3's cant get over a 3.6Ghz clock because they have to run a 1.55vcore to achieve it.

i ran over 8hours Orthos stable at 3.6ghz with only a 1.4000 vcore.
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:25 AM   #47 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
Wow good to hear. I know that my temps have gone down to 35C on idle though before I reseated it. And that was at 3.0GHz, now after reseating it, when I checked the BIOS, it was at 60C. I guess on the Zalman Thermal Compound I used, less is more indeed, more temperature and things to worry about that is.

I wish I didnt reseat it

Well, grrr, just cant wait to order the Arctic MX-2.
you need to take it off and re-do it again

those temps are way to high for idle.
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:25 AM   #48 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Grrr, why shouldnt I be worried?




That's stock btw. Im gonna go cry now
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:26 AM   #49 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
Wow good to hear. I know that my temps have gone down to 35C on idle though before I reseated it. And that was at 3.0GHz, now after reseating it, when I checked the BIOS, it was at 60C. I guess on the Zalman Thermal Compound I used, less is more indeed, more temperature and things to worry about that is.

I wish I didnt reseat it

Well, grrr, just cant wait to order the Arctic MX-2.
Interesting, you should get some of that cleaning fluid for your cpu and hsf. Its made by arctic i believe, is that the company? But its two bottles and it cleans off the old paste and purifies it before you put on your MX-2. I used it before I put in my watercooling.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:32 AM   #50 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgcook View Post
OT* what voltage settings are you using on your 680i board?

im on 3.2 right now, and i only see 35* max at idle. thats with the speedstep disabled.

if you go over to xtremesystems, there are multiple people that were complaining how hot the B3's ran compared to the new G0's. most of the B3's cant get over a 3.6Ghz clock because they have to run a 1.55vcore to achieve it.

i ran over 8hours Orthos stable at 3.6ghz with only a 1.4000 vcore.
Well maybe I'm wrong then and Pinoy just has a faulty chip or an incorrectly installed HSF, sorry Pinoy. OT*? What does that mean, sorry I don't know all of the forum lingo. My vCore is at 1.112 right now according to CPU-Z, I'm at stock speeds.
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
CPU temp to high...? Flame Hawk Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 08-26-2007 05:29 PM
idle temp Nick Overclocking and Modding 13 08-16-2007 12:06 PM
Is this too high of a temp? braz Overclocking and Modding 15 08-12-2007 06:19 PM
CPU Temp low 80s on load and 50-68 on idle EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 21 05-28-2007 09:35 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.