BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2007, 02:19 PM   #31 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

You could try that, because overclocking while the temps are high, isn't really something you would look forward to. So stay stock, for a while, and see if things improve.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 02:26 PM   #32 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Ye, I went back to the BIOS and set the RAM timings and all that stuff to automatic, cuz for some reason CPU-Z and Everest couldnt read my RAM settings.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 02:51 PM   #33 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

im running mine at 3.2Ghz right now in Prime.

my temps are 55,52,55,50. thats with a 1.3000 vcore.

so far its holding stable for over 4hours. temps should get better since i just put the MX-1 on last night.
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 03:05 PM   #34 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgcook View Post
im running mine at 3.2Ghz right now in Prime.

my temps are 55,52,55,50. thats with a 1.3000 vcore.

so far its holding stable for over 4hours. temps should get better since i just put the MX-1 on last night.
So are these load or idle temps?

Because thats basically my temps at stock speed and idle, not doing anything.

Grrr, gonna get an Arctic Cooling Thermalpaste for sure and reseat this bad boy.

I cant believe the temps went up before I reseated it.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 03:16 PM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

thats on a load.

just went back and double checked, im at 55,50,49,55 now.
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 05:33 PM   #36 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Wow, grrr........ why are my temps soo high? Those are my temps at idle!

Grrr..... I wish I didnt reseat it, I think I applied too little thermalpaste. Oh well, I will have to reseat it anyway with a better thermal compound. something not so gooey. But something thicker, heck i dont know.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 06:16 PM   #37 (permalink)
 
djmaddogfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to djmaddogfreak
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

I was reading this thread, and figured, "I have to try this out." Check out my specs first. My processor is an AMD dual core 64 bit 4600+ and i have overclocked it 10% from each core being originally 2.4 GHz up to 2.6 GHz. I have a liquid cooling kit, and i upped the voltages slightly to keep up with the overclock. The voltage is 1.3500 V and the actual frequency is 2640.01 MHZ (220.00 X 12). Just idle, (and by idle I mean about 67 processes running including a TV tuning and recording program, video and voice convo over skype, firefox and other messenger programs, core 0 runs at 40-42 degrees, and core 1 runs from 37 to 39 degree. I used two instances of CPU burn in and ran them for 3 minutes, the top temp i got for each core was 49 degrees for core 0, and 44 degrees for core 1. On top of that, all my fans were on their lowest setting. not too shabby huh?
__________________
System Specs:
ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Mobo
AMD X2 64 bit 4600+ O.C. 15%(from 2.40 GHz to 2.65 GHZ)
4X1GB Crucial Ballistic Tracer O.C. to 880 MHz @ 4-4-4-12
2 - 500 Gig Seagate 7200 RPM HDDs
2 - 160 GB WD 7200 RPM HDD in RAID 0
NVidia GeForce 8800 GT with 512 megs of RAM
Liquid Cooled Processor
Windows Vista Ultimate 64
My Business
djmaddogfreak is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 06:24 PM   #38 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

nice, well i just cant wait to move in to the dorms. I think i got all my stuff ready. Gonna fire up that Spherex 5.1 Surround Sound system
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 10:43 PM   #39 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

hey pinoy you ever think for a second that maybe you seated your HSF perfectly correct and applied the paste perfectly correct and did everything perfectly correct and your chips just ran hot because they just ran hot? Thats seriously what Im putting my money on....my chips run hot stock too....but my room is also pretty hot I guess.....just our luck but hey some people don't even have a q6600 or a GTX for that matter....be grateful, except me, I dont have to be grateful cause I worked for all my stuff so :P
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 10:56 PM   #40 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
hey pinoy you ever think for a second that maybe you seated your HSF perfectly correct and applied the paste perfectly correct and did everything perfectly correct and your chips just ran hot because they just ran hot? Thats seriously what Im putting my money on....my chips run hot stock too....but my room is also pretty hot I guess.....just our luck but hey some people don't even have a q6600 or a GTX for that matter....be grateful, except me, I dont have to be grateful cause I worked for all my stuff so :P
Ye but it shouldnt run this hot should it? Idle temps are very hot. Maybe my motherboard is reading the temps wrong? My mobo temp is like 38C and my cpu temps are 10~15*C hotter on idle compared to my mobo temps.

When I had the E6600, it used to be that the Core temps were lower than the CPU temps, but now they are like 10~15 degrees hotter than the cpu temp.

I just dont understand it.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
CPU temp to high...? Flame Hawk Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 08-26-2007 05:29 PM
idle temp Nick Overclocking and Modding 13 08-16-2007 12:06 PM
Is this too high of a temp? braz Overclocking and Modding 15 08-12-2007 06:19 PM
CPU Temp low 80s on load and 50-68 on idle EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 21 05-28-2007 09:35 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.