BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2007, 11:36 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
C2Ds and C2Qs can take 1.4-1.45 easily. So 1.35 is good. Just depends on your temperatures, which seems pretty high, at the moment, in your situation. But they should drop a few, when the thermal paste fully cures.
Ye hopefully. Okay, I just set the Voltage at 1.325V on the BIOS, i think or maybe it was 1.3125 not so sure haha. Anyway lets see if Orthos will run with 4 cores.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 11:37 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Core temps in the 70 is definately bad. How hot is it in your room? Now that the temps have come down, its staying around 70F in my apt and my cores are all ranging between 31-39 while playing games. Ah i see you are overclocked. I'm back to running stock clock but undervolted to 1.175V
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 11:43 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Okay, the room temperature right now is at 72C.

Just run 4 cores on orthos, it lasted 59 seconds before the 4th core stopped. Hm........ why is it the 4th core? Is it because it was the last one I clicked "start"?

Anyway, ye, that one stopped but at least it was longer than the first time.

Its not stable but when will I ever use all 4 cores at 100%? Cuz i know thats when it will crash is if I use all 4 cores at 100% but if i just use 3 cores at 100% its stable.

I will wait untill I see an improvement on my temp readings before I go any farther with the VCore. 63~64C for CPU at full load and 70~75C for the core temps are really high for me. Ill wait about a week or so before Ill increase the voltage higher than 1.3125 or 1.325 Volts, see if my temps go down a bit. If that doesnt happen, ill just Order a new thermalpaste at newegg's website.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 01:00 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

I'm not sure how you have the fan plugged in on your tuniq, but if its plugged into the motherboard i would suggest plugging it into a 4 pin molex so that it runs at full speed. I know that made a huge difference for my TRUE rather than letting the motherboard set the speed.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 02:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

you should keeps temps below 71*C

that is the recommeded limit by intel. anything after that and your subject to CPU throttling.
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 03:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

my fan speed on the tuniq is at 2150 which is 100% and as high as it can go.

Right now, im noticing a drop in temperature a little bit, by about 2C.

Core temps used to idle at 50C but now its around 46~48C, maybe it will go to the right temperature in a week when then thermalpaste settles down.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:48 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

mine got to 80*C today. i left the room and didnt notice it till i came back 5mins later. i was trying a 3.8 @ 1.5Vcore

i ripped my tuniq off after that. i think i had too much paste on there.
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 10:39 PM   #18 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
That seems normal for a Q6600. Since you just installed it, give it about a week for the thermal paste to cure.
I disagree, I thought my idle temps were high at 40 celcius! his is like almost 10 celcius on average higher...
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 10:42 PM   #19 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
Okay, the room temperature right now is at 72C.

.

If those are your room temperatures then you should technically be dead, or in the process of dying. LOL I can't believe no one caught this mistake...of course we know he ment F....but just imagine a room thats 72 Celcius....your computer overheating would be the least of your worries...

BTW I would trust coretemp far more with a q6600 g0 as that what seems to be the most trusted temp source. Also 75 celcius is not good for your chips imho...
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 10:45 PM   #20 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: BIOS Temp says 39C at Idle? Too High?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
Is it too high after having the computer off for about 6 hours, I just turned it on and the temp shows 39C?

I tried reseating the stupid heatsink and it wont let me! I cant get the screws out, I think I screwed it in there too tight or something. I cant unscrew it, but I looked at it and it seems to be seated correctly, nothing in between the cpu and the heatsink. the barrels werent getting on the way, maybe it takes a few days for the heatsink to dry off and do its job properly? Or should it have read the temps right even if you just put it on together.

Right now heres my Everest temps:


BTW I just want to say when I reseated my tuniq tower I swear like 10 times I thought it was impossible. You gotta try really hard and mess up your fingers ( mine were BADLY messed up after the reseating, I was incredably angry and in pain ). Use pliers as a last resort to unscrew the screws...TT 120 golden screws are a pain to both screw and unscrew...
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
CPU temp to high...? Flame Hawk Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 08-26-2007 05:29 PM
idle temp Nick Overclocking and Modding 13 08-16-2007 12:06 PM
Is this too high of a temp? braz Overclocking and Modding 15 08-12-2007 06:19 PM
CPU Temp low 80s on load and 50-68 on idle EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 21 05-28-2007 09:35 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.