BIOS and confused - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2006, 10:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 21
Default BIOS and confused

Ok I built my computer. Poorly, but still built.
Now when I put in my Windows disk it said "No hard drive detected XP setup can not proceed" or something to that effect. How can there be no hard drive detected? How do I fix that?
If I can fix that and setup my computer to run RAID 0 that would be most preferable.

Thanks guys.
__________________

Avatar is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 10:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default

Try using somehting other than RAID? I woudl think our HD can just be hooked up to a non raid Sata port at least to get it up and running.
__________________

__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 11:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: BIOS and confused

Quote:
Originally posted by Avatar
Ok I built my computer. Poorly, but still built.
Now when I put in my Windows disk it said "No hard drive detected XP setup can not proceed" or something to that effect. How can there be no hard drive detected? How do I fix that?
If I can fix that and setup my computer to run RAID 0 that would be most preferable.

Thanks guys.
What motherboard.
What interface for HD?

IF EIDE Make sure jumpers are set correctly, try different ribbion cable, make sure molex is connected.

IF SATA try another cable, try another port, make sure Molex is connected.

For RAID You need two harddrives you then enable RAID in the CMOS Setup and then enter the RAID Option after POST, you choose the RAID you want then add the two drives to the array you then boot off os disc and Install RAID Drivers, at this point XP should see the array as one drive and then you format and install windows like normal.
Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.