Big mistake... Screens stay off. Tried to overclock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2008, 07:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default Big mistake... Screens stay off. Tried to overclock

Lol, so I'm not too sure if I'm gonna overclock now. I have a q6600 G0 and a 680i evga board. I was going in to set the fsb to 333 since I read that the PC is stable there without changing volts. (Should be 3.0ghz) Well I believe I changed the right settings, but now I'm doubting myself. When I turn my PC on the fans stay loud and the screens don't change. They just say no signal if I turn them on and off. Any idea on what I should do. I can't even fix what I did since I can't get to the BIOS.
__________________

randysmashed is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 07:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Big mistake... Screens stay off. Tried to overclock

Alright in this image.
http://www.bjorn3d.com/Material/revi...680i/bios3.jpg

I changed SPP<->MCP Ref Clock, MHz to 334. I read in some other post a guys default was at 200 instead of 266 so I figured I was in the same scenario. Does this help out? Any clues?
__________________

randysmashed is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Big mistake... Screens stay off. Tried to overclock

-sigh- did your clear the CMOS already?
Ste is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 07:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Big mistake... Screens stay off. Tried to overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
-sigh- did your clear the CMOS already?
I haven't. This has to do with moving a jumper or something right?
randysmashed is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 07:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Big mistake... Screens stay off. Tried to overclock

No, the button on the Back I/O panel that says CMOS. Make sure computer is off, press it once or twice then turn the computer on.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 08:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Big mistake... Screens stay off. Tried to overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
No, the button on the Back I/O panel that says CMOS. Make sure computer is off, press it once or twice then turn the computer on.
Hmm, couldn't find any buttons, but I managed to move the jumper to reset and then back to normal to fix it! Thanks a bunch. Now what did I switch? I'm guessing that was completely wrong?
randysmashed is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 10:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Big mistake... Screens stay off. Tried to overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
No, the button on the Back I/O panel that says CMOS. Make sure computer is off, press it once or twice then turn the computer on.
I've only see a few MB's out there that have the button to clear CMOS on the outside...
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 10:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Big mistake... Screens stay off. Tried to overclock

hrmm do you have the 680i lt.. that one doesnt have a jumper.. along w/ the asus p5n32... all the others have push button to clear cmos
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 10:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Big mistake... Screens stay off. Tried to overclock

i thought x38 was the only one with the button
i have the jumper on mine
and ya you have to clear cmos, lol i freaked out my first time too
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 10:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Big mistake... Screens stay off. Tried to overclock

I assumed he had a(n) Asus Maximus mobo as that is the one in the link he posted, which does have a back panel clear CMOS button...
At least there was a picture of it when I looked at the link, I should probably look at the rest of the page next time.....
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.