BFG Physx.. May 9th.. are you getting one!?!? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Should I make Windows the primary OS on my MacBook Pro?
Yes! 3 42.86%
No! 4 57.14%
Voters: 7. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2006, 10:38 PM   #21 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I might try to fit it in my next major upgrade, which may be either a conroe cpu, or g80/r600. It does look very cool. But I have read that it might be integrated onto either the motherboard or the video card.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 10:44 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

question.... what is a physx card and what significance does it have?
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 10:57 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

let me take a shot at this... (please, someone correct me if i am wrong)

well theoretically, it is suposed to process the "physics" of the game. so instead of the graphics card "calculating" the physics of, lets say, a granade blowing someone up (that i threw ).

with a GPU alone, it will have to calculate the physics (based on the programing and such of the game).

with a GPU and a PhysX, The PhysX will calculate the physics, send the info to the GPU, and then the GPU will render it.


i think its a good idea, but its really unncessecsary because a normal graphics card CAN and WILL process it just fine... if not better right now.

im sure way back when people were talking about osmething like "man... why should we get this silly GPU when i can play pong on my brand new 1mhz computer?!"

technology is always changing... but new technology, much like a kid, needs time, money, and pressure...

lets just hope it doesnt make wrong choices and hang out with a bad group...
__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 11:21 PM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tommyboy123x
Its really unncessecsary because a normal graphics card CAN and WILL process it just fine... if not better right now.
Heck No. Have you not seen what Physics calculated through a PhysX card look like? No way a GPU can do that. A GPU is that - a graphics proecssing unit. It cannot do Physics. A CPU is what handles the meager Physics that games have right now. A PhysX card, when used properly, can give you an ridiculous amount of Physics interaction in a game.

Nvidia and ATi say that their videocards are CAPABLE of calculating Physics that are fed through the theoretical Havok FX physics engine. I'm not too sure about how a GPU is going to process Physics. The hardware is totally different, and so are the instruction sets that it can process. Oh well, time will tell.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 11:23 PM   #25 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tommyboy123x
let me take a shot at this... (please, someone correct me if i am wrong)

well theoretically, it is suposed to process the "physics" of the game. so instead of the graphics card "calculating" the physics of, lets say, a granade blowing someone up (that i threw ).

with a GPU alone, it will have to calculate the physics (based on the programing and such of the game).

with a GPU and a PhysX, The PhysX will calculate the physics, send the info to the GPU, and then the GPU will render it.


i think its a good idea, but its really unncessecsary because a normal graphics card CAN and WILL process it just fine... if not better right now.

im sure way back when people were talking about osmething like "man... why should we get this silly GPU when i can play pong on my brand new 1mhz computer?!"

technology is always changing... but new technology, much like a kid, needs time, money, and pressure...

lets just hope it doesnt make wrong choices and hang out with a bad group...
umm... no.. a graphics card will not process it better.. and it takes more load of a cpu than a gpu from what i've read in some places... a graphics card alone cannot get anywhere near producing what a ppu can do, have you not seen cell factor? or any ps3 games.. its all aided by the ppu because the gpu and cpu cannot do it alone
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 11:39 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

I'll get it when it becomes more developed. I also have to wait till the HL engine utilizes it.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 11:45 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

im wondering if battlefield 2142 will utilize the physx card... that would be sweet since bf2 and cs:s are the only games i play
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 12:16 AM   #28 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

i don't see that happening... i don't see a mere patch doing the job of making things compatible with a physX card, they'd probably just have to remake the game... like source2 or something like that...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 12:23 AM   #29 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

Quote:
I voted no, is a waste of money. i cant shell more then 300 for a video card but they want me to shell 250-300? for a physics card? come on now! My video card will help the game more then a physics card would ever will. Remember the card has to still draw all of thoses particles and polygons that the physics says it need to create thoses effect. SO NO! TOO MUCH MONEY. FOR NOT ENOUGH PERFOMANCE!
Quote:
yeah, i think its a cool tech, but it think it might be a bit too early for its time, cause #1 is expensive #2 its only compatable w/ 2 games and #3 it doesn't boost performance that much....

but maybe in the future it'll prove to be better....
Oh wow just like PCI-E!!
Quote:
Ghost Recon looks horrible on the PhysX card. The framerate DROPS when PhysX is added. As if that wasn't enough, the effects that you see with PhysX are ridiculously bad too. A bunch of more debris for 1/2 the FPS? No thanks. Ghost Recon may be the first game with PhysX, and I'll grant it that, but the PhysX performance in this game was horrible. Hopefully its improved in other games, and not just slapped on like in GRAW.
Umm hello you turn on that much graphics on a regular GPU and id like to see it stay that clean and un laggy and the graphics look amazing. i dont see that on a regular video card anywhere else.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 12:25 AM   #30 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ahhh yay, finally someone that agrees with me!
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.