BF2 + G-Card = ? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2006, 05:43 PM   #21 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

I found this benchmark (http://wwww.vr-zone.com/?i=3092&s=1) between the 6600 and x1600 but there made by companies you can find on newegg that make that card. There is also this card (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814161009) with high clock speeds that might do good. I would say go for price=performance but the x800gto is a good way to go......
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 05:56 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

X1600 is in the same neighborhood as the 6800, probably a bit better. It'd be a fine choice, but a 7600 GT would be the best for that price.
__________________

Orayn is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 07:29 PM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Ok the x1600 definatly isnt close to 6800 series. Like we have agreed on its around the 6600 series and yes the 7600gt would be if he had pci-e but we dont know and it seeems he doesnt either.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 07:41 PM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Maybe you have it backwards, the 6600GT is no match for an X1600.

I've had both, I know how they perform, and the laptop version of the X1600 is at least twice as fast as the 6600GT.

Perhaps the specs are close, but the X1600 blows the 6600GT away. I know because I've owned both, and used both.

Regardless of the specs, the X1600 owns the 6600GT. I think it's closer to a 7300.
The General is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 08:21 PM   #25 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Quote:
Well I remember someone saying to me when I was looking to buy a video card that the 1600 series has 16 faked pipes where it turns 4 true pipes into 16 and that its about equal to a 6600gt but for sure I dont know.

Ill check some benchmarks and report back later...
Ok well time for some learning. First of all how can it be the same as a 6600GT w/ 4 pipes anyways when the 6600GT has 8? Why would a card have support for SM3.0 if it sucks so bad? Lets look at the facts.
9800XT has 8pipes and 256bit DDR
6600GT has 8 pipes and 128bit GDDR3
X1600pro has 12pipes and 128bit GDDR2

The 6600GT is a little better than the 9800XT whereas the X1600pro has support for SM3, adaptive AA, and 12 pipes, 4 over the 6600GT. The only thing the 6600GT has going for it is GDDR3 and that is only 128mb of it. ITs more along the lines of an X800pro so to say or a befed up version of the 9800XT. I recomend the X1600pro so much because it has support for everything a modern gamer needs and its really cheap. The HIS version of it has a huge HSF which you can OC really good w/.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 08:40 PM   #26 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Actually, the X1600 I have has GDDR3...
The General is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 09:05 PM   #27 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Im talking about the AGP X1600pro here, it has GDDR2.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 09:06 PM   #28 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Didn't know, sorry.
The General is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 09:10 PM   #29 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Thats probably why he was arguing against me because of the GDDR2 and AGP. Im not sure.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 09:18 PM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Yeah, perhaps the GDDR3 and PCI-E gives a huge increase in performance.
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.