BF2 + G-Card = ? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2006, 02:02 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 73
Default

Well, can you link me to a 6800, cus the only ones i'm finding are goin for 200+
__________________

jon2231 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 02:11 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
My friends beat my 6800GT flashed and OCed beyond 6800ultra which beat out my friends X850XTPE. So that supposedly is wrong.
Maybe....

But check this anyway:

stock 6600 300/1000 8 pipes = 8.8 gb bandwith

My oc'ed/modded x800 gto 16 pipes 425/1050 = 32.8 gb bandwith

stock 6800 gt 16 pipes 350/1000 = 32 gb bandwith

stock 6800 ultra 400/1100 = 35.2 gb bandwith

(When I get my new cooler I think I could beat Ultra's bandwith)

My guess in Fps from Highest to Lowest is:

1.6800 ultra
2.6800gt
3.my x800gto (40-70)
4.6600

I only put my fps because thats what I get at 1024x768 60hz all High AA/AF off. A 6800gt with same settings scored 62.58fps as an average but the system was way better then mine. The 6600 would get sweet fps in games like CS:S but not so good in BF2.
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 02:13 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pepsiboy700
There is also the 6800xt http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130017 which I heard is decent.
They dont make 6800gt's or ultra's anymore but you could maybe find a stock 6800 by some not so known company like Apollo. Just go with either a x800gto and I tell you how to mod and oc which is all software based and is easy or get a 6800xt.
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 02:31 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 73
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/CustRa...82E16814131007

Is that the one you're talking about?

And what settings could I get out of that, if I have that card, and a gig of RAM?
jon2231 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 11:38 AM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

for bf2, best is 2gb, but if u dont wanna upgrade, stick with the gig, with that, when modded properly, u can probably hit high settings, but not sure abuot multiplayer, that may change.
john3 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 01:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

You are going to need to find out if you have AGP or PCI-express. You've posted cards for both. Only one works, unless you have one of the five motherboards that support both.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 02:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Believe it or not, the X1600 256MB in my laptop runs BF2 pretty quick. It's way faster than the 6600GT I had in my desktop a while back.

Let's see ... I get ~60fps HL2 @ 1440x900 with all the other settings on full, for a benchmark. I dunno how to see my FPS in BF2, otherwise I'd let you know.
The General is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 04:29 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

Pepsi i understand where your coming from but an X1600pro is no match for a 6600GT. Ive seen one in action seriously. For high settings i can fun BF2 on a 9800XT, 2gig of ram and on a 2600+ AthlonXP. My 6800GT smoked on 2gig of ram and a 3800+ X2. When i flashed it and OCed the crap out of it i got even more. It was better than my other buds X850XTPE. Where did you see an X1600pro is the equivalent as a 6600GT? Considering it has 12pipes and all, kinda wierd.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 04:54 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Maybe you have it backwards, the 6600GT is no match for an X1600.

I've had both, I know how they perform, and the laptop version of the X1600 is at least twice as fast as the 6600GT.
The General is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 05:36 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Well I remember someone saying to me when I was looking to buy a video card that the 1600 series has 16 faked pipes where it turns 4 true pipes into 16 and that its about equal to a 6600gt but for sure I dont know.

Ill check some benchmarks and report back later...
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.