Is it better to run 1 2gb of DDR2 ram or 2 1gb ? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2007, 03:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Is it better to run 1 2gb of DDR2 ram or 2 1gb ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sydzy View Post
lay off gurusan, dhgunit's post was valid and made a good point
stop being a tw@t
Give the guy a break. Not everyone in the world is a tech major.

Yes I found it really interesting as well though ^^.
__________________

__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 03:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Is it better to run 1 2gb of DDR2 ram or 2 1gb ?

The dude just cut and pasted a wikipedia article...and didn't even answer the guy's question.

I gave him a straight answer right away, that's hardly being a "tw@t", now is it.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 03:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Is it better to run 1 2gb of DDR2 ram or 2 1gb ?

The performance difference between single channel and dual channel DDR2-800 memory using an up-to-date Core 2 Duo system is little to nil, depending on the benchmark - most tests show differences, but they are really small. For games and enthusiast PCs, we recommend sticking to high-performance dual channel RAM, because the memory is one of those components that you want to perform best for a smooth experience. For regular applications, though, it doesn't really matter much whether you run single or dual channel.
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 08:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: Is it better to run 1 2gb of DDR2 ram or 2 1gb ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
The dude just cut and pasted a wikipedia article...and didn't even answer the guy's question.

I gave him a straight answer right away, that's hardly being a "tw@t", now is it.
Yeah, you gave him a straight answer, but not necessarily the right one.

What happens in a year when you need 4 GB for most games? He will get 2 more 1 GB sticks. And then when more than that is required he will have 4 sticks of RAM to throw in the trash.

I would buy the 2GBs as you will see little performance increase right now from the 2 x 1GB configuration.

Then when you need to upgrade in the future, you won't be full when you go to 4 GB.

****, I just did a fresh install of Vista and I have IE and Steam running and Task Manager has me using almost 2 GB of RAM right now.

If you don't think 4 GB is gonna be the standard soon for high-end machines then you are crazy.

Also, this is the High Performance forum, not the General PC forums. I thought most people in here would understand what I'm saying.
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 02:05 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Is it better to run 1 2gb of DDR2 ram or 2 1gb ?

mmmm hmm...because games are going to require more than 4gb of ram before his system is totally obsolete.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2GB DDR2 800 PC6400 CL 4-4-4-12 Patriot Extreme RAM $29.99 AMIR 11/2 ONLY @ CLUBIT krazyq Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 7 11-02-2007 03:28 PM
Hijackthis Log Part 1 chublake HijackThis Logs (finished) 13 11-02-2007 08:14 AM
Analyze please! Rawmaterial HijackThis Logs (finished) 13 10-29-2007 05:12 PM
Spyware Alert beach276 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 10-01-2007 11:25 PM
HiJackThis Log whuahu HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 09-20-2007 08:15 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.