Better Proformace? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2007, 03:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Better Proformace?

looks like he needs more than ram and a gfx card.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 04:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4
Default Re: Better Proformace?

OCing is over-rated in my book.

The major problems I see with your system are mainly RAM and the video card. as others have said. If you're trying to do something complex with that card it's pointless.

In the end the best solution might be to turn off options in the video settings of the games. Even the most expensive cards and computers still can't play most of these new games on max everything with 30+fps... the games are designed with the future in mind.
__________________

cmanspc is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 04:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: Better Proformace?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmanspc View Post
OCing is over-rated in my book.

The major problems I see with your system are mainly RAM and the video card. as others have said. If you're trying to do something complex with that card it's pointless.

In the end the best solution might be to turn off options in the video settings of the games. Even the most expensive cards and computers still can't play most of these new games on max everything with 30+fps... the games are designed with the future in mind.
Getting performance better then a $1k cpu for $200 is overrated? K.

But on topic, you really can't do much in games with that GPU no matter what you do or how good the rest of the system is so your only choice is really to upgrade. OCing you processor won't do anything and you cant OC integrated graphics so yeah... Only thing that might help is defragging your hard drive, cleaning your registry etc. if you don't do so already but that won't do much either.
__________________
Old rig sold.. :(

Dell Vostro 1700:
C2D T5470, 8600m GT, WXGA+ screen, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, Vista Ultimate
mrfluffles is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 05:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Better Proformace?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfluffles View Post
Getting performance better then a $1k cpu for $200 is overrated? K.

But on topic, you really can't do much in games with that GPU no matter what you do or how good the rest of the system is so your only choice is really to upgrade. OCing you processor won't do anything and you cant OC integrated graphics so yeah... Only thing that might help is defragging your hard drive, cleaning your registry etc. if you don't do so already but that won't do much either.
or $100.....

but ya..... if u can get that 2.66 ghz to 3.6 and u technically have an EE Pentium D, wihout the unlocked multiplier.... jk jk

i would consider getting a new good pci-e card now, and then start saving up the dough to get a core 2 duo..... assuming that ur current socket 775 mobo supports it....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 05:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 511
Default Re: Better Proformace?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmanspc View Post
OCing is over-rated in my book.

The major problems I see with your system are mainly RAM and the video card. as others have said. If you're trying to do something complex with that card it's pointless.

In the end the best solution might be to turn off options in the video settings of the games. Even the most expensive cards and computers still can't play most of these new games on max everything with 30+fps... the games are designed with the future in mind.
Mine gets 60Fps on Rainbow Six Vegas, which isnt very old.

Go for a 6600GT or 6800GS for a Gfx Card. Upgrade RAM.
__________________
Computer
HAF 932 -- ASUS P8Z68-V
Intel i5 @ 4.5Ghz -- CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
8GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black 1600MHz -- 2x XFX ATi Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Raze664 is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 09:00 PM   #16 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Better Proformace?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmanspc View Post
OCing is over-rated in my book.

The major problems I see with your system are mainly RAM and the video card. as others have said. If you're trying to do something complex with that card it's pointless.

In the end the best solution might be to turn off options in the video settings of the games. Even the most expensive cards and computers still can't play most of these new games on max everything with 30+fps... the games are designed with the future in mind.
As stated getting a CPU for 90 bucks that can beat out a $1000 chip stock is overated? Or getting a card that is 150 bucks and making it faster than a 200 buck one? Not overated.

You just have to plan your system to overclock and everything will be fine
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 09:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4
Default Re: Better Proformace?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
You just have to plan your system to overclock and everything will be fine
Not always the case.

Overclocking is beyond noticing predominant errors. An overclocked system can seem very stable, kill on a CPU test, but then cause so many unpronounced errors that after a period of time the system is put into a state of disarray.

To me overclocks shouldn't be more than a slight percentage of the original speed, at which point most of you won't even notice the difference anyway. In other words, near pointless.

I will give you that the new Core architecture is pretty kickass for overclocking [and might finally get me to change my stance]. But I wouldn't trust a D overclock past the point I could throw my old Trinitron.
cmanspc is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 11:52 PM   #18 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Better Proformace?

Quote:
Anyone know how I can get better performance, because in my games I only get 20-30 fps (framed per second).
First up, defrag. Use something besides the Windows defragger, though. I use O&O. There is a free version and a paid version. the free works, but it isn't automatic. The paid runs in the background and defrags as needed. you can actually get 0&#37; fragmentation with it.
|MG| Free Download - O&O Defrag 2000 Freeware Edition 3.5.562
|MG| Free Download - O&O Defrag Professional Edition 10.0.1634

Speaking of running in the background, kill any unneeded background apps. Use MSCONFIG (Google it) and uncheck whatever you don't have to have.

Download and use a couple of spyware scanners, just in case. I recommend Spybot and Ad Aware. I also use Windows Defender. All are available on MajorGeeks.

Run a virus scan. if you are using Norton or McAfee, ditch 'em and get something that works and is not a resource hog. I am using Nod32 and it is sweet. I have also used CA, and it is great, too. AVG and Avast work, but I don't use 'em. Double check your virus scan with an online checker. TrendMicro has a good free online scanner.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 11:57 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: Better Proformace?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmanspc View Post
Not always the case.

Overclocking is beyond noticing predominant errors. An overclocked system can seem very stable, kill on a CPU test, but then cause so many unpronounced errors that after a period of time the system is put into a state of disarray.

To me overclocks shouldn't be more than a slight percentage of the original speed, at which point most of you won't even notice the difference anyway. In other words, near pointless.

I will give you that the new Core architecture is pretty kickass for overclocking [and might finally get me to change my stance]. But I wouldn't trust a D overclock past the point I could throw my old Trinitron.
Oh, really? Read.

X-bit labs - Cheaper Core Micro-Architecture: Core 2 Duo E4300 CPU Review

kthxbye.
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 01:08 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 58
Default Re: Better Proformace?

I have a laptop that is almost 2x as worse and outperforms this one.

Mobile Intel Pentium 4 CPU 3.06GHz
382 mb of RAM
ATI mobility 9000
__________________

ranran is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.