Better Proformace? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2007, 02:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 58
Default Better Proformace?

I didn't know where to post this but oh well.

Specs:
Dual core 2.66GHz processor
894 MB of RAM
270 gig HD
ATi 200xpress

That's not bad. Anyone know how I can get better performance, because in my games I only get 20-30 fps (framed per second). I know I can get more than that.
I have a horrible connection if that has anything to do with it.
__________________

ranran is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 02:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Better Proformace?

Hey ranran,
Welcome to T.F.!!

Which dual core processor do you have?

Definitely your RAM needs upgrading, as well as the video card.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 02:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 58
Default Re: Better Proformace?

I looked in dxdiag.exe and it says Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.66GHz (2 CPUs)
ranran is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 02:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Better Proformace?

Oh ok...so what's your budget?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 02:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 58
Default Re: Better Proformace?

I wasn't looking to upgrade, just find a way to get better performance out of this computer.
ranran is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 02:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to Okitasoshi
Default Re: Better Proformace?

If you have an open PCI expressx16 slot I'd go with a 8800GTS 320 if you have the money, if not the ATI X1950XT is a good choice

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100186L Radeon X1950XT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 VIVO HDCP Video Card - Retail

If that's still too expensive, try a 8600GT or GTS.

and for RAM, if you have 240pin get

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

those should hold ya over for awhile.
Okitasoshi is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 02:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Better Proformace?

To get better performance, you should upgrade the RAM and graphic card. Without upgrading you could overclock, but it won't do you much.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 03:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Better Proformace?

i thought he had a core 2 duo e6700 when he said dual core 2.66 ghz processor.... but y recommend an 8800gts 320MB, it may cause a bottleneck with that Pentium D
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 03:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: Better Proformace?

yea, pd's are worse than the althlons, and remember jhonnyuk said he got the same frames w/ his 7950gt with his 8800gts, and he had an athlon, so he needs a new cpu, too :?
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 03:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Better Proformace?

Quote:
Originally Posted by psp_crazy1 View Post
yea, pd's are worse than the althlons, and remember jhonnyuk said he got the same frames w/ his 7950gt with his 8800gts, and he had an athlon, so he needs a new cpu, too :?
yep pretty much.... just overclock..... if u can....
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.