Better OS? : XP Pro Vs. XP 64 Bit Pro - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2007, 11:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Better OS? : XP Pro Vs. XP 64 Bit Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by KlNGPlN View Post
lol, well cant help you there, i didnt donate any money to mr gates..so no box for me.
LOL
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 11:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 197
Default Re: Better OS? : XP Pro Vs. XP 64 Bit Pro

so now are you sure I couldnt rule the world with the 64 bit version?
__________________

__________________
<font face="Symbol">™</font> 175 Opertan CPU
<font face="Symbol">™</font> WD Raptor 150gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> WD Caviar 750gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> OCZ DDR500 Plat 2gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> DFI Lanparty nF4
<font face="Symbol">™</font> eVga 7950GT KO
<font face="Symbol">™</font> OCZ GamexStream 700w
<font face="Symbol">™</font> Big Typhoon Cooling
KlNGPlN is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 11:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Better OS? : XP Pro Vs. XP 64 Bit Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by KlNGPlN View Post
so now are you sure I couldnt rule the world with the 64 bit version?
come again?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 11:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 197
Default Re: Better OS? : XP Pro Vs. XP 64 Bit Pro

meaning, they make 64bit sound so good and secure, you sure I would be better off with the 32 bit?
__________________
<font face="Symbol">™</font> 175 Opertan CPU
<font face="Symbol">™</font> WD Raptor 150gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> WD Caviar 750gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> OCZ DDR500 Plat 2gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> DFI Lanparty nF4
<font face="Symbol">™</font> eVga 7950GT KO
<font face="Symbol">™</font> OCZ GamexStream 700w
<font face="Symbol">™</font> Big Typhoon Cooling
KlNGPlN is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 11:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Better OS? : XP Pro Vs. XP 64 Bit Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by KlNGPlN View Post
meaning, they make 64bit sound so good and secure, you sure I would be better off with the 32 bit?
Who they? How is 64-bit more secure?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 11:55 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default Re: Better OS? : XP Pro Vs. XP 64 Bit Pro

yeah, I've been wondering this for a while as well...I've ran both OS but didn't see much of a difference in then aside from some problems with my drivers on x64...probably my fault though...
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 11:55 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 197
Default Re: Better OS? : XP Pro Vs. XP 64 Bit Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Who they? How is 64-bit more secure?


when i was installing, you know how the thing tells you a story while its downloading, it kept saying how secure it was.


anyways then whats the difference between the two?
__________________
<font face="Symbol">™</font> 175 Opertan CPU
<font face="Symbol">™</font> WD Raptor 150gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> WD Caviar 750gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> OCZ DDR500 Plat 2gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> DFI Lanparty nF4
<font face="Symbol">™</font> eVga 7950GT KO
<font face="Symbol">™</font> OCZ GamexStream 700w
<font face="Symbol">™</font> Big Typhoon Cooling
KlNGPlN is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 11:58 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 197
Default Re: Better OS? : XP Pro Vs. XP 64 Bit Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by jordo_99 View Post
yeah, I've been wondering this for a while as well...I've ran both OS but didn't see much of a difference in then aside from some problems with my drivers on x64...probably my fault though...

same here, only problem i noticed is the older programs seem to have a problem running on the 64bit.
__________________
<font face="Symbol">™</font> 175 Opertan CPU
<font face="Symbol">™</font> WD Raptor 150gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> WD Caviar 750gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> OCZ DDR500 Plat 2gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> DFI Lanparty nF4
<font face="Symbol">™</font> eVga 7950GT KO
<font face="Symbol">™</font> OCZ GamexStream 700w
<font face="Symbol">™</font> Big Typhoon Cooling
KlNGPlN is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 11:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Better OS? : XP Pro Vs. XP 64 Bit Pro

ya... thank god for the no box ppl!!! we don't want to help bill gates pay his down payment on his Gold House
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 12:00 AM   #20 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Better OS? : XP Pro Vs. XP 64 Bit Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by KlNGPlN View Post
when i was installing, you know how the thing tells you a story while its downloading, it kept saying how secure it was.


anyways then whats the difference between the two?
MS is spilling BS on the general public again.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.