Which is better? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2009, 12:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Default Which is better?

Ok, here's the thing. When my mom bought our computer, the one we have now, it came with 6gb of ram. There are 2x2gb and 2x1gb sticks. Here's a pic of each one.





There's two sticks of each type of ram above.


I also have a set of this ram:

G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Now, I was wondering which ram would be better. I'm guessing the G.Skill because the ram that came with the computer is probably generic and they take up all for ram slots, so there's no room for them. I'm not sure though. I need to know which is better to use on my pc. Thanks in advance to all feedback!
__________________

hitmanj is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 12:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Which is better?

The ram in the picture says pc25300, u have pc6400. Your g skill is much better.
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 12:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Default Re: Which is better?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thresh25 View Post
The ram in the picture says pc25300, u have pc6400. Your g skill is much better.
That's what i though. So the G.Skill would still be better with only 4gb and the other sticks totaling out to 6gb?
hitmanj is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 12:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Which is better?

Yeah should be. Nothing really takes up 6 gigs anyways. If your not on a 64bit operating system though it's all a waste, it will only recognize 2.5-3.2 or something. also, the 4 gigs will be in dual channel, I dont think the 6 would be. could be wrong on that though

edit: i believe the 6 is in dual channel. but it looks very generic, and it's slower. and as i stated nothing really uses 6 gigs of ram right now
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 12:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Which is better?

the g.skill is obviously much better, but since pc2-5300 is 677mhz, and that the computer came with all 5300, it is doubtful that the motherboard supports anything over 677mhz. so it will run it at the max the board supports. what mobo is in the computer?

Also, I'm hoping that this computer has a 64bit os...it most likely does, because it came with 6gb ram, but you might wanna check.

EDIT: thresh beat me to the os kind.


as long as both channels have the same about of ram in each dimm slot, then it will run in dual Chanel.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 12:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Default Re: Which is better?

Hold on real quick. I have to find out.
hitmanj is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 12:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Which is better?

Jerk out the RAM in it now and replace it with the G.Skill.

Even if you are running a 64-bit OS, you won't use 6GB of RAM unless you are doing some heavy Photoshopping or video work.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 12:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Default Re: Which is better?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke View Post
the g.skill is obviously much better, but since pc2-5300 is 677mhz, and that the computer came with all 5300, it is doubtful that the motherboard supports anything over 677mhz. so it will down will run at the max the board supports. what mobo is in the computer?

Also, I'm hoping that this computer has a 64bit os...it most likely does, because it came with 6gb ram, but you might wanna check.

EDIT: thresh beat me to the os kind.


as long as both channels have the same about of ram in each dimm slot, then it will run in dual Chanel.
I can't find the type of motherboard I have, but the desktop i have is the Dell Inspiron 530. Came with Q6600.
My Windows Experience Index went from 3.3 to 3.5 and upped some of my other scores. So I'm guessing it's better. Right now I have the G.Skill installed and I have a stick in slot 1 and then the other in slot 3. Is that ok? Will it run in Dual channel? BTW, what is Dual channel? And yes I am using Vista.
hitmanj is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 12:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Which is better?

Quote:
Even if you are running a 64-bit OS, you won't use 6GB of RAM unless you are doing some heavy Photoshopping or video work.
well there would be no point if he didn't have a 64bit os, as like you said, barely anything uses over 4gb ram these days, 6gb is a little over kill, and 8gb would be more over kill. So if he does not have a 64bit os, then he can either leave the ram out, or get an 64bit os and use it, depends what he wants to do.

Even if you do have a 64bit os, and you use the ram, the difference in performance for that much ram WILL NOT BE NOTICEABLE, even with intense PS and all the stuff that relies on ram, you will barely see an increase in that either.

EDIT:

Quote:
I can't find the type of motherboard I have
meh, does not really matter, as you are not going to get another mobo as far as i know, even if it only supports 667.

Quote:
I have the G.Skill installed and I have a stick in slot 1 and then the other in slot 3
it depends on the layout of your motherboard, download and install cpuz and see if the ram is running in dual channel.

Quote:
what is Dual channel
dual channel, kinda uses two different memory lanes to make ram access faster.I don't know in-depth specifics...
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 12:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Default Re: Which is better?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke View Post
well there would be no point if he didn't have a 64bit os, as like you said, barely anything uses over 4gb ram these days, 6gb is a little over kill, and 8gb would be more over kill. So if he does not have a 64bit os, then he can either leave the ram out, or get an 64bit os and use it, depends what he wants to do.

Even if you do have a 64bit os, and you use the ram, the difference in performance for that much ram WILL NOT BE NOTICEABLE, even with intense PS and all the stuff that relies on ram, you will barely see an increase in that either.
So basically I should go with the G.Skill(have it installed right now btw, using it on this computer at this moment)?
__________________

hitmanj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.