Best way to update BIOS? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2007, 10:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Best way to update BIOS?

So far my stock computer is running all the games I play pretty well except SupCom. The overal performance with max everything is great, but I occasioanlly get crashes and strange lag or instant crashes when turning the overlays on ( this problem happens to others as well ). I updated everything in my system except my BIOS, and strangely enough SupCom tech support claims its good to update the BIOS. I Haven't updated the BIOS till now since I'm a little worried as a lot of people seem to say not to update it unless somethings wrong ( and I really doubt the problem could be the motherboard drivers but worth a try ).

I dont have a floppy drive, so any of that boot crap is out of the question. I wanted to use the DS3Rs update from the internet but Im worried norton or some protection program will stop and screw up the update. Anyone update their BIOS yet with the DS3R safely using this method?

Also is updating the BIOS considered "flashing it" ?
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 11:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Best way to update BIOS?

you download the .exe file onto a floppy. go into the bios and set the floppy as the first to boot. then restart and it will load up and tell you what to do from there.

i did mine 2 days ago. worked perfect for me.
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 11:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Best way to update BIOS?

try a flash utility called Winflash. You don't need a floppy, or DOS to use it.
from DFI:
http://www.dfi.com.tw/Upload/Driver/WinFlash-875Inf.zip
Quote:
Also is updating the BIOS considered "flashing it"
yes.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 11:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Best way to update BIOS?

Yeah, I used Winflash when I updated mine for dual core. I can vouch for it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Best way to update BIOS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgcook View Post
you download the .exe file onto a floppy. go into the bios and set the floppy as the first to boot. then restart and it will load up and tell you what to do from there.

i did mine 2 days ago. worked perfect for me.
guess you didn't notice the "Don't have a floppy drive" statement in my post...
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Best way to update BIOS?

most offer a .iso file

you can mount that as an image and make a copy onto a cd and do it that way.
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Best way to update BIOS?

what about just using the update from the net feature?
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 09:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Best way to update BIOS?

i wouldn't rec. using that method. would rather update through boot device. but u no theres only one way to find out if its good or not.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 09:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Best way to update BIOS?

i wouldnt do the internet thing. just use apoko's method.
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 10:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Best way to update BIOS?

I appreciate your guys input but after looking into that WinFlash thing, I realized its pretty much exactly what @BIOS is ( the windows environment BIOS flasher for gigabyte ds3r ). I would much rather use their official program then a 3rd party program, and I dont have a floppy, flash drive, or hard drive set with fat 32 to use the BIOS dos flasher they also provide ( called Q flash ). Wish me luck! Im updating!
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Going to update bios to latest version wish me luck! pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 09-04-2007 02:56 PM
update bios rebell07 Overclocking and Modding 2 08-29-2007 02:09 AM
Dell D820 Bios Update BubbaGump69 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-23-2007 08:00 PM
update bios Nick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-01-2007 07:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.