Best way to setup a raid 1 array? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2006, 02:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Default Best way to setup a raid 1 array?

Whats the best way to setup a raid 1 array? Someone said I should be using a controller card that can read data from both drives at once to increase read performance and transfer rates instead of using the one built into my asrock dual sata 2 mobo.

Transfer rates are important for this computer as it will be used as a small server.
__________________

Energize is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 04:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Just use the onboard RAID.

It will be the same speed as 1 hard drive.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 04:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Default

How can that be if both drives are transferring half the data at the same time?
Energize is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 10:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

Because each drive is only having to transfer half of the total data. It's like having two people working on the same project instead of one.
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 10:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by curtcheese64
Because each drive is only having to transfer half of the total data. It's like having two people working on the same project instead of one.
Which is exactly why it would be faster...
Energize is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 01:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default

exactly!
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 04:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

if its only half the data, presumably then its twice the speed of a single hdd?
harry18 is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 10:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Default

Thats exactly what I said in my first post, then someone said it will only be the same speed as one hdd which wouldnt make sense. I was wondering if someone could reccomend me a decent controller card that can send read requests to both drives at once?
__________________

Energize is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.