Best Video Card For My Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2007, 08:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 95
Default Best Video Card For My Computer

I bought all these parts and now I am in search of a moniter and a video card. I am looking to spend around 300 for the card, and another 300 for the moniter. this is the site I will be using.
www.directcanada.com

CPU-
http://www.directcanada.com/products...ufacture=INTEL

MOBO-
http://www.directcanada.com/products...ufacture=INTEL

RAM(2)-
http://www.directcanada.com/products...cture=KINGSTON

HARD DRIVE-
http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=15080DR9792

PSU-
http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=11730AC2682

CD/DVD ROM-
http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=10530DR6510

TOWER CASE-
http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=12650AC7087

Was thinking Sapphire Ati Radeon x1950 pro 512mb, or nvidia Geforce 7950 GT 512mb. Which one is better?

I checked out some moniters and this is the one I like most.
http://www.directcanada.com/products...acture=SAMSUNG

anyone see anything bettter?
__________________

Cuong is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 08:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 260
Default

http://www.directcanada.com/products...nufacture=EVGA

spend another extra 40 to get this
__________________

__________________
Dell Dimension 8400
P 4 630 with HT 3GHZ
Windows Home Edition
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 400MHZ
160GB ATA 7200RPM HD
XFX 7900GT 256-Bit
Sound Blaster 24 bit Advanced HD
Coke27 is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 08:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Cut down 40 bucks on the monitor and add it to the card. You are going to want to have that 8800GTS as it's a DX10 card. 260 bucks is still fine to get a good monitor...your card comes first man.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 03:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 213
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sora
Cut down 40 bucks on the monitor and add it to the card. You are going to want to have that 8800GTS as it's a DX10 card. 260 bucks is still fine to get a good monitor...your card comes first man.
Agreed...
__________________
www.outotune.com
MSI P6N SLI-FI NForce 650i
E6300
2x1gigs 667mhz OCZ
36gb Raptor
80gig SATA Hitachi HD
500gb Seagate 32mb Cache HD
EVGA 8800GT SC 512mb
Ultra X2 X-connect 550w PSU
ProView 22" 1680x1050
BuddyRo is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 05:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 95
Default

was just wondering if this hard drive will work on my computer?
http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=15080DR8127
Cuong is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 06:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

it will work but spend the extra 10 bucks to get a drive with 16MB cache, as it does make a difference.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 11:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 95
Default

Is there a drive that has only CD/DVD rom and CD R/W in one. or will i have to buy it separately. i dont really need dvd/rw

dont want to spend very much on this. maybe like 40 max.
Cuong is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 12:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cuong
Is there a drive that has only CD/DVD rom and CD R/W in one. or will i have to buy it separately. i dont really need dvd/rw

dont want to spend very much on this. maybe like 40 max.
Yep they are called "combo" drives.... Something like this will do the trick for you

http://www.directcanada.com/products...manufacture=LG
Mantis-X is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 12:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 95
Default

ok i will get that one then.

If i get the 8800 gts, will i need a better power supply?

and i have an extra 512 mb pc3200 ram, could/should I add it to my 2x1gb kingston pc5300 or is that a nono.
Cuong is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 01:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

No you will not "need" a better one but 450w is cutting it close to where you won't have as much headroom for upgrading. I would look for a good 500w or so PSU as those extra 50w's could be a few extra fans and other stuff later on.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.