best setup for movie editing please?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2007, 07:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Default best setup for movie editing please??

Hey there guys, my dad's been bugging me about getting together a PC tower for him so he can edit videos, I did a search for this topic but didnt find anything so I decided to post a topic. Though I prefer amd I hear Pentiums are better for video editing is that true? I'm more of a gamer/programmer so I dont mess with video editing much, so wich type of mobo/cpu/memory/video card combos would you reccommend? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I have the tower/HD/cd drives, and do not plan on spending more than 900 on the mobo/cpu/memory/video card combo.
__________________

frostman79 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 07:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

that depends on ur budget, heres one of the best budget setups money can buy

Intel Core 2 Duo e6300
Gigabyte Ds-3 (its the same one in my sig)
Nvidia eVGA 8800 GTS or 7900 gt if u wanna save more
Some 2GB kit or just buy 2, 1 gb kingstons or something

that should set u at about 900 if u take the 8800 or 750 if u take the 7900

enjoy!!
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 08:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Hey thanx for the suggestion, I did a search for the mobo, but didnt find any gigabyte ds-3's on Pricewatch, and there are a few of them ds3's on newegg. Where else is a good place to buy these parts? The 965p is more current than the 965g right? but the 965p comes with no onboard video so if the video card ever fries, it'll be dead til i get one right?
frostman79 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 08:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Oh yea another thing, I have been using Kingston memory for awhile now and they work just fine, are Corsairs just as good or better? and the geforce 7900 will do just fine for video editing right? Would any lower than the 7900 reduce the efficiency of the PC when it comes to just video editing?
frostman79 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 10:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

from what i hear the 7800GT, 7900GS, 7900GT and up are great for working with Adobe Premiere and Aftereffects as they can do real time rendering of effects. however if that's not required and the system is unlikely to be used for gaming i wouldn't worry about a high end card.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 10:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Thanx for the info nitestick, what about the mobos? If I'm gonna get a geforce 7900, should I just get the gigabyte 965p ds3 with no onboard video? Do you think Corsairs memory would be better over Kingston?
frostman79 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 11:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

id reccomend the

mobo: abit AW9d-max
Cpu: E6400
Ram: G-skill 3gb 3x1gb
psu: Antec trio 550w
Videocard: 7800gt
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 11:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Default

I noticed that none of them geforce video cards have the video input jacks, like the ones that you directly hook up a camcorder to or dvd player to it, do they make an adaptor for that kinda project?
frostman79 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 12:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by saltynay
id reccomend the

mobo: abit AW9d-max
Cpu: E6400
Ram: G-skill 3gb 3x1gb
psu: Antec trio 550w
Videocard: 7800gt
Thanx for the recommendation saltynay, do you do any video editing with your rig? Do you think getting the 7800 will speed up the video decoding time over the 7900?
frostman79 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 12:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I'd recommend if "video editing" is your dads primary concern...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814133189

lol - best workstation card available...
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.