Best RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2006, 11:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 75
Question Best RAM?

I thinking of getting a new computer and needed advice on RAM as i have little to no idea about the subject. I think the top link is the best, are you in agreement? Or do you recommend a different product? I would like to keep below £170. Thanks

http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...,14,4294959062
http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...,14,4294959062
http://www.dabs.com/ProductView.aspx...0000&InMerch=1
__________________

M0rga is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 11:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

If you are on a budget then get the cheapest ram wth a good name. If not then the top is the best I think.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 12:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

That site is kind of confusing. It says the corsair ram is pc 5400, but also says it's 800mhz, which would make it pc 6400.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 12:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 49
Default

The best RAM is the RAM that is going to work best in your motherboard. I can't tell you how many posts I've read about on Newegg where the problem stems from buying RAM with the wrong voltage or timings for the motherboard. I agree with the post above about going for a good name brand. Personally, I've always had very good luck with Kingston Value RAM.

Regards,

DeeJay
dmj94044 is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 12:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 75
Default

I thought the PC - 6400 part was the bandwidth of the RAM and the mhz was the frequency? I also was looking for a mobo to go with my setup Intel Core 2 duo E6400 775 but thought it would be best to choose RAM first bad move?
M0rga is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 03:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spartan1121
That site is kind of confusing. It says the corsair ram is pc 5400, but also says it's 800mhz, which would make it pc 6400. I thought the PC - 6400 part was the bandwidth of the RAM and the mhz was the frequency?
You're correct. It's an error, it should read PC2-6400. This is 800Mhz RAM.

The Crucial RAM is fast enough if you're not overclocking. If you're in a tight budget, go with this.

Quote:
I also was looking for a mobo to go with my setup Intel Core 2 duo E6400 775 but thought it would be best to choose RAM first bad move?
Well, choosing mobo first is usually better, but I don't think you'll have a problem with any of the RAM options you mentioned. How much were you willing to spend on the mobo?
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 06:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

The last link, the Crucial Memory, is using Micron D9 memory chips, the best for overclocking. Even at DDR2-667, it should overclock past DDR2-800. So hardly for a system that doesn't overclock.

If not, then the Corsair XMS2 in the second link has a good reputation also. Not sure if it uses D9 or not though, couldn't figure it out because that website is SO D*MN CONFUSING.

Quote:
Originally posted by M0rga
I thought the PC - 6400 part was the bandwidth of the RAM and the mhz was the frequency?
I'm not sure if its also the bandwidth, but the PC-xxxx numbers are supposed to coincide with the DDR2-xxx numbers. For example, DDR400 = PC3200, DDR2-533 = PC2-4200, DDR2-667 = PC2-5300, DDR2-800 = PC2-6400. DDR2 x 8 = PC2-speed, basically.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 08:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TriEclipse
I'm not sure if its also the bandwidth, but the PC-xxxx numbers are supposed to coincide with the DDR2-xxx numbers. For example, DDR400 = PC3200, DDR2-533 = PC2-4200, DDR2-667 = PC2-5300, DDR2-800 = PC2-6400. DDR2 x 8 = PC2-speed, basically.
It is the effective(DDR) bandwidth. RAM uses a 64-bit interface, or 8-bytes, so to calculate the data bandwidth just multiply the memory frequency times 8 (bytes) and you get Bytes/sec.

Hence memory running at 800Mhz has a bandwidth of 800Mhz * 8 bytes = 6400 MB/s, or 6.4 GB/s. Hence this memory is also called PC2-6400 memory.

Notice that the number here is usually rounded to the neareast "nice" number. That's why you see PC2-5200 and PC2-5300 memory, for instance. The speed is almost the same, but they round one up and the other down.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 08:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

I see! Thanks for clearing that up, learn something new everyday.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 12:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 75
Default

For the motherboard i would like to keep the price low < £100 if possible, but i don't want to buy a terrible piece of hardware that will just bottleneck the rest of the system. I only really want two PCI-E ports so that it is future proof for the dx10 cards but i really don't care about SLI (it seems pretty useless as i wouldn't consider buying the same card twice.) Any ideas on good intel mobos?
__________________

M0rga is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.