Best Overclocking AM2 Board? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2006, 02:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default Best Overclocking AM2 Board?

Wich do you think is the most overclockable am2 board?
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 03:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

If i were going to go AM2 I would go with the DFI Lanparty nforce5
http://us.dfi.com.tw/Product/xx_prod...YPE=LP&SITE=US

but I am going to go conroe when I upgrade...
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 03:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

thing is i already went am2, and im just waiting for the am3 tocome out. but iwant to get a good motherboard because the m2n-e seriously sucks for overclocking.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 03:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

btw when is that board going to be available?
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 04:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

thats gonna be REAL pricey, how does this look?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136015

great overclock capability, nice price. my only concern is its nforce4 chipset. is that bad?
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 04:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

and since it has a memory standard of ddr2 667 it willstill work with my ddr2 800 right? would there be any disadvantage to this?
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 04:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

no actually i settled on the http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813186098
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 07:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default

I was gonna say to go with the Biostar 590SLi but I think you still made a good choice

http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=2773&p=1
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 07:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

hmmm, ill check it out
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 08:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Foxconn I hear is good for overclocking. Check them out.
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.