Best overclockable Dual Core? - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2005, 02:47 PM   #51 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Do you think they would have a 165 in stock by x-mas. The problem is im ordering exactly christmas day so if its there which i hope it is i will order everything from newegg except cpu. Sound ok and do you think they would still have it?
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 02:50 PM   #52 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

or ebay? I just looked and didnt see any 165. I mean why should i get a 165 instead of a 175. Like a opteron at 2.0ghz instead of 1.8. Idk guys your confusing me to look for a cpu thats hard to find when one very close is somewhat easy to get lol
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 02:52 PM   #53 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pepsiboy700
Do you think they would have a 165 in stock by x-mas.
No.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 02:59 PM   #54 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

003, your signature is much too large

You should be able to find Opterons of specific stepping numbers on ebay, which IMO would be your best chance if you are serious

I haven't seen any CCBWE week30s anywhere though
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 03:01 PM   #55 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I still fail to see the difference if you do not plan to overclock at all. You can save yourself some cash by going X2.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 03:17 PM   #56 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 149
Default

2 months from now will there be a better processor to spend 400 on?
macombaland is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 03:34 PM   #57 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

I guess i ebay but theres no 165. What would be a good oc cpu thats opteron that i could probably find? If i cant find a good one, x2 it is....
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 04:07 PM   #58 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 179
Default

oops sorry for the misplelling were i wrote video card when i meant to write cpu, i wrote it as i was walking put the door.
So, I am either going to buy the 165 or one of the more expensive ones from newegg today so i just want to clarify.

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
If you mean would it outperform a $1000 CPU, then the answer is yes.
I mean if I was to overclock both the 165 and the 800-100$ cpu under the same loop which one would perform better.

btw, i am still a bit of a noob when it comes to computers so sorry if my questions are silly
MAXIMILIAN is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 07:41 PM   #59 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 179
Default

sorry to bumb but im really curious
MAXIMILIAN is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 07:47 PM   #60 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

The more expensive one would be a tad better because it would probably have an unlocked multiplier which can come in handy. Other than that they would be pretty much on par.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.