Best overclockable Dual Core? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2005, 05:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Yeah but wouldnt a 170 do good too. I mean still what could i get a 165 to and a 170 to. Youd figure the higher mhz it has , the higher oc in total UNLESS they are all the same chip and downclocked and would reach same mhz in oc. Idk. Ok question (revised). What is the best overclockable dual core NEWEGG carries?
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 05:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

The current batch of 165 at monarch are a very good stepping. This was on xtremesystems the other day. Dude, they have been discontinued. Get one while you can.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 06:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

The chart answers all

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 06:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

My 3800+ overclocks fairly well. If you wanted to say in the Athlon market then I would say stick with a manchester core. Theoretically, they can be overclocked futher because they contain fewer transistors than the Toledo core. I have talked to people that have gotten theirs up to 2.4 with no problem. Currently mine is at 2.2 because I dont have to time to take to do stability tests (I will once the sesmester ends).
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 06:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Actually, cache size having an impact on overclockability is a myth...there are many Manchester cores out there which are infact Toledo cores with broken L2 cache...and they generally overclock better than "native" Manchester cores due to the better E4 stepping

Transitor size will have limited impact on how well a processor overclocks, it's all about which fabrication line the processor came from and when...or basically, just how much the processor was speedbinned/vcore binned
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 07:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 179
Default

omg does that 165 opteron really run near 3.6 un-overclocked?!?!
MAXIMILIAN is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 07:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

What did you add the two core speeds together like a newb?

No it doesn't, it runs at 1.8. When software is written for multiple cores, it would be like 3.6ghz.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 07:48 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 179
Default

Im sorry now you got me confused :P
MAXIMILIAN is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 07:54 PM   #19 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

And for me it would be like 5.0GHz because I have mine OC'd. Once my new cooler gets here I will OC it even more.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 08:08 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 179
Default

So Im sorry if I sound like a broken record but i want to really verify this becuase if the opteron 165 is really better than or almost as good as a 900$ AMD Dual-Core Opteron 270 I will order one right now.

Thnaks
-Maximilian
__________________

MAXIMILIAN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.