Best overclockable Dual Core? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2005, 02:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Question Best overclockable Dual Core?

So what is it?
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 02:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

The retail opteron 165 at monarch computer... if they still have them.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 02:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

doesnt seem anyones got it. Besides that whats the best overclockable dual core. Price isnt an issue.....
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 03:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

yeah, amd discontinued the 1xx 939 opteron line, because a 2ghz opty with 1mb of l2 cache was cheaper than an athlon 64 2ghz with only 512k of l2 cache, and they were selling like mad, and i guess amd was losing money. not to mention they overclocked like gods. good thing I got mine when I did. Look for a dual core opteron 170 if you can find one, and then a 175. If you can't find any of those, I guess a 4400+x2.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 03:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 149
Default

monarch still has 'em.
macombaland is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 04:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

grab one while you can:
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...ct_Code=120338
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 04:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 149
Default

you think there will be demand for them once theyre gone?
macombaland is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 04:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

My mom said she only wants me to go newegg unless the prices on monarch are cheaper.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 04:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

they are cheaper because newegg doesnt have them
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 04:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pepsiboy700
My mom said she only wants me to go newegg unless the prices on monarch are cheaper.
Well then you're not going to get a very good overclocker, AND newegg dosn't even carry them!! So the prices are cheaper.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.