Best motherboard? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2007, 11:56 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: Best motherboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
The more expensive DS3R supports DDR3 and DDR2. I would go for the cheaper one.
The mix DDR2 and DDR3 seams like it would be buggy to me. Like when the AGP PCI-E motherboards came out and had all kinds of problems. I want to hear some first hand opinions about it before I consider buying. It could be an amazing board though, and I hope it is.
__________________

Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 11:58 PM   #22 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Best motherboard?

The answer is obvious, but you can't use DDR2 and DDR3 together right?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 11:59 PM   #23 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Best motherboard?

Yea or the DDR and DDR2 memory slot boards those were weird...

Here is someone on my favorite site who has the board that I will most likely be picking up...

510mhz FSB on P35C-DS3R - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net

EDIT: Probably not B1gapl however maybe since thye are the same pins DDR3 can somehow run at the same speeds of DDR2? I mean DDR2 can't be forward compatible if the CPU requires DDR3 but it could be possible being the same pins that DDR3 is backwards compatible..
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 12:12 AM   #24 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Best motherboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
Yea or the DDR and DDR2 memory slot boards those were weird...

Here is someone on my favorite site who has the board that I will most likely be picking up...

510mhz FSB on P35C-DS3R - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net

EDIT: Probably not B1gapl however maybe since thye are the same pins DDR3 can somehow run at the same speeds of DDR2? I mean DDR2 can't be forward compatible if the CPU requires DDR3 but it could be possible being the same pins that DDR3 is backwards compatible..
wow....510 FSB, without voltage increase....very interested in one...
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 12:16 AM   #25 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Best motherboard?

Yes maybe you should put that P5N-E up for sale and join the P35 fun with me haha. I really want that board now....too bad I don't have the money for a P5K3 which gives a good bit more FPS than the standard P35's but oh well heh it's 1105 bucks more for about 5% more FPS on average

EDIT: nevermind I looked the charts wrong. The DS3R gets pretty much the best same FPS as the P5K3 board.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 12:38 AM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: Best motherboard?

So the Asus P5K3 seems to be top dog? I was about to spend $200 on the Asus P5W Deluxe, so I think I could push $50 more for a much better mobo.

Or should I save $25 and get the normal P5K 'cause I won't use DDR3 anytime soon.
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 12:38 AM   #27 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Best motherboard?

It would seem so that it is...however I haven't really seem much difference yet from it and the P35C-DS3R....aside from the heatpipes.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 12:40 AM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: Best motherboard?

sora if im correct ddr3 does have 240 pins, but the "notch" is in a different place, so i don't think it would be possible :?
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 12:44 AM   #29 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Best motherboard?

Well some of these boards support both DDR2 and DDR3 so I don't see how they could do that if they didn't fit the same way....not exactly sure but I would think they would fit both.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 12:45 AM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: Best motherboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
Well some of these boards support both DDR2 and DDR3 so I don't see how they could do that if they didn't fit the same way....not exactly sure but I would think they would fit both.
i think the notch would be the opposite way to be exactly noob proof...
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading motherboard, processor and RAM Uberg New Systems | Building and Buying 14 06-03-2007 07:03 PM
it wasnt the motherboard!!!!! pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-03-2007 01:02 AM
Which motherboard? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-02-2007 11:00 AM
Which MotherBoard Would you get? shan1784 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 06-01-2007 03:27 PM
Motherboard Post Code E0 PeeWee Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-24-2007 12:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.