Best Mobo for Q9300 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2009, 12:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Default Best Mobo for Q9300

I've pretty much decided on a Q9300 for my new build. MicroCenter has them for $180.00. So can anyone suggest a few mobos that would serve me well with this cpu? I'm probably going to be looking to spend no more than $150 on a graphics card, and I tend to be partial to Nvidia, but once again, if you guys can convince me that ATi is the way to go, then I'm open to change. I'm trying to stay well under $1,000, more around the $750 range, most likely. Oh, and I won't be needing to sli or crossfire or anything. One gpu is plenty for me. I also like to buy as much as I can from Microcenter, and a few extra dollars here and there to make that possible isn't a big deal. Thanks, guys!
__________________

__________________
CPU Q9300 @ 2.5GHz, for now
GPU HD4850 512MB
Display X2Gen 19" LCD
Mobo Biostar TPower I45
Mem 2 GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800
CaseApollo NZXT Black
Cooling Xigmatek something
Goodonebales is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 01:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Best Mobo for Q9300

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goodonebales View Post
I've pretty much decided on a Q9300 for my new build. MicroCenter has them for $180.00. So can anyone suggest a few mobos that would serve me well with this cpu? I'm probably going to be looking to spend no more than $150 on a graphics card, and I tend to be partial to Nvidia, but once again, if you guys can convince me that ATi is the way to go, then I'm open to change. I'm trying to stay well under $1,000, more around the $750 range, most likely. Oh, and I won't be needing to sli or crossfire or anything. One gpu is plenty for me. I also like to buy as much as I can from Microcenter, and a few extra dollars here and there to make that possible isn't a big deal. Thanks, guys!
an HD 4850 for the GPU is fine (AMD is winning the GPU war in that price range..)..... finding an HD 4870 for under $150 like you asked is hard...

For your mobo, the q9300 is weaker on overclocking than others, because it has the tendency to FSB Hole, due to its low multiplier...

You need a board that can do high FSB, like a TP45HP, or if you are willing to spend more.. a Biostar I45
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 02:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Best Mobo for Q9300

Why not just grab a q6600?
aspire is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 06:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Best Mobo for Q9300

^ q6600 is slower and can only overclock to roughly 3.5ghz on these new crappy batches.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 06:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Best Mobo for Q9300

it's not slower by much at all, and the Q9300 only has a 7.5 multi so getting a high clock is difficult.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 06:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Best Mobo for Q9300

well it's a trade off, because the q9300 supports sse4 and will hit around 3.5-3.8 and the new q6600's have a bad batch and overclock like crap from what ive heard
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 06:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Best Mobo for Q9300

they aren't that bad actually, most hit 3.4-3.6 , it just requires more voltage on average than the '07 chips.

Anyway, if you get the q9300 then you need a quality mobo to get that quad to a decent FSB.

I recommend either the Gigabyte UD3 series or Asus P5Q Series
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 06:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Best Mobo for Q9300

i've gotten mine up to 3.6 on my mobo. that was on stock volts. not too stable but it ran 3dmark06 about 3 times before locking up. added a little more voltage and now am stable. have not had a crash since sat.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 06:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Best Mobo for Q9300

well yeah actually, I would recommend the q9300 over the q6600 as well since he will be buying a new mobo.

UD3P like you have would be great as I've seen them bring 45nm quads to pretty high fsbs, and that's not an easy task for many mobos
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 07:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Best Mobo for Q9300

so far it's been stable at 460fsb with 4gb of ram at 1200mhz.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I think I cooked my cpu and mobo jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-03-2008 09:18 PM
window on both side's and see through mobo tray ste2425 Overclocking and Modding 7 08-04-2008 06:52 PM
I need a new 939 socket mobo ASAP Denise_M System Upgrades 9 03-13-2008 09:37 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.