The Best Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.40GHz -- Stage 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2006, 11:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
Default The Best Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.40GHz -- Stage 2

Ok well quicker than i thought stage 1 was decided on. We have picked the Evga nforce5 680i sli motherboard. Now it is time to decide on the memory we want to plant into this rig. Bare in mind that one of the reasons this motherboard won was because it supported Duel channel DDR2 memory at up to 1200. If you happen to know something like this processor is not fast enough to let the fast ram go hog wild speak up. If not this vote will be coming down to brand only.
__________________

FourTwenny is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 11:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

from hwat ive seen and read theese are bad ***
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145043

crucial ballistix is also very good tho
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 11:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Ya either that dominator, or corsair xms2 ddr2 800mhz

But the dominator is a little faster. So ya the dominator
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 02:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231065

These are some great sticks of ram, unfortunately theyre out of stock and no eta...

Im using OCZ Titanium right now and it works pretty good, havent really had to push it much past 400mhz so Im not a good indicator of its overclockability

-aspire
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 02:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Heres just a suggestion although i don't know about the oc ability.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227184
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 08:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

oh god, thats obscene
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 10:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
Default

Obscene in a good way ? lol Water cooled ram, i am sold its got my vote, also clocked in at 1150. It's got my vote, 2 gigs of it hooked up to water cooling.
__________________
Evga nForce 680i sli Motherboard
Q6700 CPU
Apevia Blue X-Cruiser Case
Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP-HC Monitor
Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speakers
Logitech G5 Mouse
FourTwenny is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 11:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 230
Default

hey what type of memory are compatible with the motherboard we decided on cause I would like to know cause I am planing on getting that motherboard.
__________________
http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/7...7ah7842gr0.gif
Case: NZXT Apollo BLACK
MB: Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi edition
CPU: E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
GFX: eVGA 7900GS
RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 1GB
HD : Seagate 400 GB HD
PSU: HIPER HPU 580Watt
MurdaX is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 11:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
Default

"The nForce 680i SLI provides 4 DIMM sockets using Dual Channel 240-pin DDR2 with a total capacity of up to 4GB. You can install DDR 533/667/800/1200(SLI-Ready) MHz Memory."

www.tigerdirect.ca

This is the only board i have found so far that supports over 800MHz.
__________________
Evga nForce 680i sli Motherboard
Q6700 CPU
Apevia Blue X-Cruiser Case
Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP-HC Monitor
Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speakers
Logitech G5 Mouse
FourTwenny is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 12:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Obscene as in there is no way you will even get a high enough FSB to utilize that watercooled ram to it's full potential.

Pick up the Crucial Balistix DDR2 1000.

I own them, Awesome stuff, Micron D9's, they overclock like Pros.
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.